Skip to content

Welcome MLA Readers and Colleagues!

August 8, 2012

I just want to welcome folks who came here via the Medical Library Association’s MLA News publication, where this blog and the Our Bodies Ourselves blog were featured in the “Blogs to Watch” column. It’s always exciting to have your work noted, and I really appreciate being included in the column. It’s great to be featured in a column that has also highlighted the awesome Nikki Dettmar, Michelle Kraft, and Marie Kennedy, among others. Welcome, also, to my colleagues who learned of this blog via the news about the MLA piece.

Now the word of caution: I’m a pro-choice, LGBT-supporting, liberal feminist, and I read and think a lot about issues around reproductive rights. This blog reflects those things. For folks who don’t like politics to ever be mixed in with their health information, this will probably not be a favorite RSS feed for you. I also sometimes veer off into other topics, such as my current, in-progress series on being car-free by choice for more than one year in Nashville, TN.

It is what it is, and I hope you like it, but I won’t be offended if you don’t. If any of this is remotely interesting to you, I hope you also check out the blog of Our Bodies Ourselves, where I’m one of two regular bloggers. Yes, Our Bodies Ourselves is still around, and it’s so much more than just the book you fondly remember from your younger days. There, too, there’s a lot of reproductive health and rights talk from pro-choice feminist perspectives.

One other thing I’ve been meaning to shamelessly self-promote is that I recently wrote an installment of the “Expert Searching” column for MLA News, on – guess what – searching PubMed for topics in women’s maternal and reproductive health. Unfortunately this – and the blog profile – is accessible to MLA members only, but I’ll be happy to field questions on searching for published literature on these topics.

Thanks for dropping by!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 8, 2012 5:25 pm

    WOW and yeah to most of the entry.

Leave a Reply

