Skip to content

Birth Control Recall

September 17, 2011

You may have already seen this via Facebook or Twitter, but it’s worth repeating – Qualitest is recalling more than a million packs of oral contraceptives due to a packaging error.

Affected brands are Cyclafem, Emoquette, Gildess, Orsythia, Previfem, Tri-Previfem. Exact types and details are here.

You can call 1-877-300-6153 to return or report problems with the drugs.

The company says: “select blisters were rotated 180 degrees withint the card, reversing the weekly tablet orientation and making the lot number and expiry date no longer visible.”

In plain English, I think that means that women could have taken the “placeholder” pills on some days when they should have had real, active pills, and may have been sold expired packages.

This obviously raises concern about unplanned pregnancy. Women are advised to add a “nonhormonal” method in the meantime, which means a barrier method like a latex condom.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2011 12:09 pm

    WOW and really have nothing else to add to this.

  2. Aimee permalink
    October 1, 2011 7:56 pm

    I am one of the many that got a affected Pack. In my case I pray to God I am not pregnant. I am hearing tons of woman that where on the same birth control as me are all now pregnant!!I have a rare Disease called Ehler-Danlos I CAN NOT get pregnant My life would be in Danger & the baby has a 50% chance on getting it 10 times worst,, My husband & I where planning on adoptting when we are ready.. I can’t believe this.. Its so sad, so many woman out there are do everything they can to not get pregnant in till they are ready..

    • October 7, 2011 11:22 am

      Amy – You really need to get in on the class action suit. YOu can google Qualitest Recall Class action lawsuit. The web site is [birthcontrolpillrecall dot com] You don;t have to be pregnant to get in on it. They have put many lives in danger.

      • Laura permalink
        November 10, 2011 3:30 pm

        I was on the same pills, i just received a letter from my health insurance letting me know, but the recall was in early September. So just out of precaution i took a home pregnancy test and it was positive!!!! I have a Dr appt to make sure but this is not what i wanted that is why i was on the pill in the first place. I never have normal cycles so i haven’t had a normal cycle for 3 months. All i can say is i am freaking out!! Not what i wanted at all.

  3. October 3, 2011 7:42 am

    Please tell me Rachel, why are women even still using this method of birth control when the use of hormones damages the body in so many ways?

    We now have access to sophisticated fertility machines, like BabyComp, Pearl etc making birth control, cheaper (in the long term), easy and natural and increases our awareness of how our own bodies work.

    We are only fertile for a few days of the month! Its so not necessary to use the pill and other artificial hormone methods and do all this damage when there are better methods now available.

    Just a shame we, nor the doctors are given a real education.

    Thanks for your work.

    Celeste

Leave a Reply

