Skip to content

Administrative Notes: Comment Moderation

January 22, 2011

I’ve always had a policy here that I moderate comments at my discretion, and I do not provide space for certain kinds of commentary (homophobia, anti-trans comments, racism, misogyny, etc.). I will sometimes leave examples of these comments up so I or others can respond, but for the most part, I don’t feel like I have to provide my space for other people to spew hatred and/or misinformation – they can get their own blogs.

Following the Tosh.0 post, I’ve had a couple of particularly upsetting comments about women and rape that I have no intention of posting. On the advice of a woman blogger/friend, I’ve changed the comments setting such that all new commenters are moderated; once a comment is approved, the individual should be able to post without moderation.

*trigger warning for threats of sexual violence*
I hope that this will put a barrier between readers and (future) comments such as:

What a bunch of uptight bitches on here. Its a joke and rape can be funny especially when it happens to someone you dont like. In fact I would face rape you if I had the chance

If anybody has doubts about the kinds of reactions women experience when they try to speak up against such things, there’s your example. My thanks to Hilary who saw that comment right away and notified me so I could remove it, and also suggested the moderation setting for first-time commenters.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2011 10:32 am

    Holy cow. That is terrible. I’m sorry you have to even read comments like that in moderation.

  2. MomTFH permalink
    January 23, 2011 10:02 pm

    I am sorry that moderation is necessary. I have never once regretted it, however.

    Love, your fellow blogger and friend:)

  3. Holly permalink
    January 24, 2011 10:08 am

    wow – people can be so utterly insensitive and cruel. I’m sorry that you need to moderate, but it’s sometimes necessary. Glad you’ve been doing this blog for so long and getting it out to a large audience!

Trackbacks

  1. Sunday News Round-Up, Still Here Edition « Women's Health News

Leave a Reply

