Skip to content

This is Intolerable

August 29, 2010

Some of you reading from outside of Tennessee have probably seen that we have our own intolerant folks making a scene about a proposed new Islamic center in Murfreesboro, TN (where I lived for two years before moving into Nashville). It has been skewered on The Daily Show this week and previously.

Yesterday, construction equipment for the center was apparently doused in gasoline and set on fire.

I don’t think I need to spell out how intolerable and sad and hateful that is, but I just wanted to say something to clearly oppose this type of action, and to say how disappointed I am that there has been opposition at all, but especially that it came to this.

The local Daily News Journal has coverage.

[hat tip to B]

3 Comments leave one →
  1. MomTFH permalink
    August 29, 2010 11:13 am

    To me, that is terrorism. I am so saddened. I wish I could say I was surprised.

  2. August 29, 2010 1:46 pm

    Another person who is not surprised, I wait for someone of national stature to demand that all media reflect more often those of us who support the first amendment.

  3. August 29, 2010 9:55 pm

    Good lord! Intolerable. But here is a funny thing. Some Muslim friends of ours predicted just this sort of thing happening. In fact, after 9-11 they seriously considered leaving the country.

Leave a Reply

