Skip to content

This is So Cool – A Genealogical Side Trip

June 29, 2010
tags:

My colleague Taneya does a lot of genealogical research, and has been extremely helpful and generous with her time in tracking down a good chunk of my family tree. Some resources she showed me yesterday inspired me to do some looking myself, which resulted in my seeing photographs of the headstones for one line of my family from grandfather and grandmother all the way up to great great great grandparents! And they’re all in one cemetery in rural east Tennessee! (with the exception of my grandparents, who are in a different cemetery in the next county)

Here’s the headstone for my great great great grandfather (or “third great grandfather” – I’m not up on the correct lingo; 1826-1900), and the one for my great great great grandmother (1821-1916).

There is also a photo of a grave marker for the “infant twin daughters” of my great great grandparents (1913).

Taneya also has a post with photos and a bit more info here.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. jess permalink
    June 29, 2010 2:46 pm

    This is amazing! I wish I had the patience to do this!!!! Kudos to you!

  2. Dianne Rudolph permalink
    June 29, 2010 7:31 pm

    Hi Rachel. I am your cousin that your friend Taneya told you about. She told me about your post here so I just wanted to say hi.

  3. July 5, 2010 3:47 am

    There are so many good things that come about with diligence. I’ve always wanted to do family history work, but I just don’t have the patience. Thank you for the example.

  4. July 25, 2010 12:01 pm

    I checked out the photos on Taneya’ site. Amazing. This is going to spur me on to start researching my own family tree.

Leave a Reply

