Skip to content

Five Years of Women’s Health News

June 5, 2010

Well, I missed it myself, but this blog turned five years old on 5/19/10. Things have been kind of busy around here recently, hence the lack of material or real commentary – I missed my own wedding anniversary this year because I was in Washington, DC at a medical libraries conference* for work.

This would be a perfect opportunity to reflect on this site’s purpose, and how I haven’t been giving it enough attention, and the state of blogging in general, and what-does-it-all-mean-and-where-is-it-going?, and how have Twitter and Facebook affected the landscape of content, and…and… Instead, I just read Say Everything: How Blogging Began, What it’s Becoming, and Why it Matters, which I would highly recommend to my friends who have been thinking about amateur blogosphere contraction lately. Tracing the history of blogs, their popular reception, and some of their major characters, it’s a nice reminder to stop worrying about change and stats and influence and post frequency, and to just put things of interest out there as long as one finds it enjoyable.

*I actually kind of really love medical library conferences, but will not be marrying them any time soon.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2010 3:03 pm

    Happy fifth, Rachel. Reminds me that my 4th passed by and in a possible violation for blog protocol, I ignored it. Is this a sign of “amateur blogosphere contraction,” odd phrase. Imagine a time when there was only the practice of blogging sans categories.

    Yes, just keep putting things out there as you do well. Other things to worry about. Thinking about getting the “Say Everything” book–good title.

Trackbacks

  1. Mid-Morning Coffee – Peace Wanted | Speak to Power

Leave a Reply

