Skip to content

Reason #101 Why I Love My Public Library – Free Music

May 31, 2010

freegal promotion on nashville public library homepageVia this feature on the Nashville Public Library‘s homepage (see left), today I learned of Freegal, by which I input my public library credentials and am then entitled to download up to 20 songs (MP3) per week.

Yay. Free music. I already use my public library to feed my ridiculous non-fiction habit, read the occasional fiction book, check out DVDs (most recently, I did a watch-through of Battlestar Galactica, and am currently watching all the Dexter episodes), see art (like a recent letterpress exhibit), sometimes use a computer, and to check out music. Freegal lets me download 20 free songs per week, from home. The service features songs from Sony’s various labels. This article in Library Journal gives more info.

The relevant excerpt from “How Freegal Music Works:”

* Library users have a weekly download limit. You will be able to keep track of your downloads in the upper right corner of the site. Every song has a sample clip you can listen to before you download.
* The library may have an overall weekly limit, too. If your library runs out of downloads for the week, you can go to “My Wishlist” in the upper right corner and queue up for future music.
* The downloads on this site are all in the MP3 format with no DRM. This service will work with any MP3 player, including iPod, and can be loaded into iTunes. It works on both PCs and Macs.

This is the kind of service that makes me want to donate money to my library. What I’ve downloaded so far (hey, we can play a “say something true about Rachel based on this list” game…):

  • For Now – Avenue Q Cast Recording
  • Somebody to Love (Glee Cast Version) – Glee Cast. Shut. Up.
  • Hallelujah – Jeff Buckley
  • September Gurls – Big Star
  • Fly – Patti Griffin
  • Subterranean Homesick Blues – Bob Dylan
  • A Boy Named Sue, and Folsom Prison Blues – Johnny Cash
  • Institutionalized – Suicidal Tendencies
  • Sweet Jane – Cowboy Junkies

Seriously. I am very excited that my public library is offering this. Nice job, Nashville Public Library.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Christine C. permalink
    May 31, 2010 11:09 pm

    Thanks for mentioning this. We’ll have to look into access via Chicago public libraries. Bernie has rediscovered what it’s like to search out new bands and is constantly downloading these days.

  2. June 1, 2010 10:56 am

    I am just wondering if there is any way to get movies from abroad on the day when they are on, especially in USA?

  3. June 8, 2010 8:35 am

    Hi, my name is Salman, a great site, I hope I can share information with you. thanks

  4. June 21, 2010 3:16 pm

    Hi Rachel, thanks for mentioning this

Leave a Reply

