Skip to content

Weekly News Round-Up, 4/18

April 18, 2010

At RHRC, Robin Marty has a rundown of states working to ban abortion coverage in health exchanges related to health reform legislation. This includes Tennessee, where HB 2681 has passed the state House and would “prohibit[s] coverage for abortion services under any health care plan through an exchange required to be established in this state pursuant to federal health care reform legislation.”

More locally, Speak to Power talks about concerns that have been raised about whether this bill could limit contraception coverage as well. My understanding is that local liberal talk radio show Liberadio(!) will be discussing the issue in their Monday show as well.

Speaking of Tennessee, the Unnecesarean has some summary c-section rates by hospital for the state. I’m really curious to know if the >80% rate listed for Baptist Treatment Center of Murfreesboro is a mistake or some weird circumstance (like they usually transfer births that aren’t emergencies, so end up with mostly c-sections) or what – if you have an idea, please share it in the comments over there.

I honestly don’t know if Margaret & Helen are for real, but I liked Helen’s recent post about politics and abortion, particularly paragraph four, which I won’t excerpt here so you have to go read it.

Obama takes on hospital visitation, including asking HHS for recommendations “on actions the Department of Health and Human Services can take to address hospital visitation, medical decisionmaking, or other health care issues that affect LGBT patients and their families.”

Science & Sensibility has The Fifth Healthy Birth Blog Carnival: Push it real good!

The Blog That Ate Manhattan discusses a price increase for one form of birth control, Mirena.

Bound for court: Nebraska makes abortion after 20 weeks illegal based on an unsupported hypothesis about fetal pain. Amanda Marcotte also writes about the bill for Slate. See these pieces for additional coverage of this and a second abortion-related bill in Nebraska.

I thought this post at the Pharma Marketing Blog, If Patients Know Best, then Patient Social Networks Can Help Capture and Report AEs, was very interesting – basically, it talks about how existing drug adverse event reporting tools are underutilized and networks of patients who are already congregating online could be tapped into for faster and better reporting.

The CDC has a new QuickStats table on the Percentage of Women Aged ≥18 Years Who had a Papanicolaou (Pap) Smear Test* During the Preceding 3 Years, by Age Group and Poverty Status [U.S. only, data from 2008].

Also, I went to a great lecture on transgender medicine this week and will have a post up with lists of mentioned resources sometime this week. After mentioning the lecture online, several people referred me to this recent CNN piece, ‘I am transgender, and I want my voice to be heard.’

Lee Wind at I’m Here. I’m Queer. What the Hell Do I Read? has a great guest post, Why Saving the Los Angeles Public Library Matters to LGBT Writers & Readers: A Guest Post By Henry Gambill.

In completely unrelated news, the AP Stylebook (the real one, not this funny fake) tweeted that “we are changing Web site to website.” Yes. Thank you.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2010 10:58 am

    great roundup of links – thanks for sharing them, and thank you as well for the shout out!
    Namaste,
    Lee

  2. April 25, 2010 1:55 am

    Rachel, Surprised you wonder if these old lady bloggers are “real” since it’s all spelled out on their About page. Been reading their posts periodically for couple of years and cannot imagine why anyone would masquerade as “old” when it is not a popular life choice.

    “My name is Helen Philpot. I am 82 years old. My grandson taught me how to do this so that I could “blog” with my best friend Margaret Schmechtman who I met in college almost 60 years ago. I have three children with my husband Harold. Margaret has three dogs with her husband Howard. I live in Texas and Margaret lives in Maine.”

    • April 25, 2010 8:11 am

      Naomi, I did read the about section and have no reason not to believe it, you’re right. I love their blog. I think, rightly or wrongly, I’m a little gunshy about people who are very entertaining “characters” online – we had one blogger here in town who chronicled his “job” as a gas station attendant, and it turned out it was not true at all, just some guy’s attempt at writing a character/fiction. It’s very cynical of me, and something I should probably work on.

Leave a Reply

