Skip to content

Sign Up for Consumer Health Alerts from MedlinePlus

February 26, 2010

MedlinePlus, the extensive consumer health site from the National Library of Medicine, has announced a new email alert service to allow users to sign up for updates on what is new in specific topic areas.

For example, I just signed up for alerts on women’s health topics – you can choose to be updated on that broad category, or on more specific concerns such as birth control, breast cancer, pregnancy, pelvic pain, and others. I don’t yet have a sense of whether this will come in single emails compiling what’s new from all topics, or a bunch of individual alerts – I hope it’s the former.

After selecting topics of interest, the site also makes suggestions from various federal health agencies, such as the CDC and FDA.

Your user profile can be modified at any time to add or remove subscriptions.

Update: Yipes. Signing up for the “women’s health” set is causing individual emails for each subtopic. I’ve sent a suggestion to allow bundled delivery, because as interested as I am, that’s more inbox clutter than I can take.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2010 6:41 pm

    very nice feature! Hopefully they will add the availability of it to each of the specific topic pages. Also, you know me; I’d much rather prefer an RSS feed at the individual topic level.🙂

  2. snikta permalink
    March 2, 2010 8:05 am

    I just came across a post about the Angie Jackson story on an HR blog I read: Punk Rock Human Resources

Leave a Reply

