Skip to content

Weekly News Round-Up

August 9, 2009

Please forgive any typos I miss – I’m down a “g” key on this laptop thanks to a cat+coffee incident.

Esquire profiles abortion provider Dr. Warren Hern, [hat tip to the Daily Women’s Health Policy Report]

An excerpt:

And some treat him with contempt and disgust, usually the ones who have been directly involved in antiabortion activities. They hate all abortion except for their special case. One even said they should all be killed. Only fourteen, she came with her mother. What brings you here? he asked. I have to have an abortion. Why? I’m not old enough to have a baby. But you told the counselor we should all be killed? Yes, you should all be killed. Why? Because you do abortions. Me too? Yes, you should be killed too. Do you want me killed before or after I do your abortion? Before.

He told her to leave. Her mother was very upset. But he isn’t an abortion-dispensing machine. He’s a physician. He’s a person.

Lynn Paltrow of National Advocates for Pregnant Women writes about fetal personhood measures at RH Reality Check.

RHRC also has an interview with Rebecca Kluchin, author of new book Fit to Be Tied: Sterilization and Reproductive Rights in America, 1950-1980. I’m putting that on my to-read list, which should really be a “to read if I ever pay my fines to two separate library systems” list. Ahem.

Local Southern Beale is in a righteous fury over health care reform, Sarah Palin, and “death panels.”

And while I think she’s simultaneously awesome, smart, and funny and completely wrong about some things, another local, Kat Coble, has what I think is a worthwhile comment about those who refer to “dumping” the chronically ill in conversations about healthcare and costs and coverage, as though the chronically ill or disabled are garbage nobody wants to deal with (which I think also implies an erroneous assumption that others of us can somehow avoid such a state through sheer virtue). Kat asks, “Can we please stop talking as though our illnesses make us shiftless blobs of lazy sucking on the public teat?…Mr. Cagle, I’m not a piece of garbage. I’m a highly-intelligent, hard-working, well-read and well-educated woman who through no fault of her own finds herself unable to use many of her body parts due to AutoImmune Disease.”

Hexy at Hexpletive crocheted a neat uterus-shaped pouch for her menstrual cup.

Renee at Womanist Musings has links to lots of really great and interesting posts in her most recent Drop It Like It’s Hot round-up. She also has a good post on this breastfeeding doll (and Fox News dudes’ gross response) that is worth a read.

Medical Papers by Ghostwriters Pushed Therapy – from the New York Times, “Newly unveiled court documents show that ghostwriters paid by a pharmaceutical company played a major role in producing 26 scientific papers backing the use of hormone replacement therapy in women, suggesting that the level of hidden industry influence on medical literature is broader than previously known.” Dammit, it’s hard enough for regular people to access the medical literature and evidence and learn to understand and evaluate it and ask the right questions so they don’t have to rely solely on their doctor’s 30-year-old knowledge base – the last thing we need is faked up evidence that deliberately erroneously informs medical decision-making. [For the librarians: spot the first mention of Elsevier. Ahem. ]

I probably don’t agree with her on a lot of things, but I find many of Meghan McCain’s tweets just delightful. For example:
helping perpetuate a positive body image for young women is of equal passion to me as trying to bring the GOP closer to my generation!
McCain also had something saucy to say about Michelle Malkin, but I’ll let you find that for yourself.

Don’t forget: the Louisville Free Public Library needs your help and donations.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2009 12:51 pm

    A librarian with library fees!!!! Tsk, tsk, Rachel!!! But thanks for the word on Fit to be Tied…sounds like something I need to get my hands on.

    I don’t think Megan McCain is helping the young republican movement. I watched her on Bill Maher’s show recently (or maybe a few months ago???) and she sounded like the typical college aged valley girl. But she’s attractive and young, which is basically what republican’s value in women, right? So perhaps they are happy to have her face out there for them. Who knows…

    • August 9, 2009 5:11 pm

      I know, it’s terrible! I excuse it by saying that I’m just so *enthusiastic* about books, I sometimes bite off more than I can chew.😉

  2. August 9, 2009 2:51 pm

    I’ll settle for that. ;-p

    and WHAT is up with that 14 yo girl? Something tells me SOMEBODY comes from a home where very little love is ouwardly given or shown in any way. Hence all the judgmentalism coupled with young sexual intercourse. I feel very sorry for jar and yet very afraid of her at the same time.

    • August 9, 2009 5:08 pm

      I wondered about that myself. I wondered if it wasn’t something the mom was forcing her into, but from whom she might also have learned that attitude.

  3. Diane permalink
    August 9, 2009 4:02 pm

    “I probably don’t agree with her on a lot of things, but I find many of Meghan McCain’s tweets just delightful.”

    Oh it is so delightful the way Meghan McCain tells everyone who disagrees with her to Fuck Off (which she does quite often – so mature) or yells at them “You’re a HATER!!” and then ironically (and laughably!) preaches about “positivity.” (Gag) Sorry, but there’s nothing delightful about a 25-year-old grown woman who behaves like a spoiled brat. This one is not playing with a full deck.

    • August 9, 2009 5:11 pm

      Diane, I don’t disagree that as a 25-year-old woman she might have some growing up and polishing to do before she is seen as a professional in politics or political commentary. I’m not entirely sure she’s interested in being seen as “a professional” at this time, though (and I’m sure I probably have missed more negative examples your refer to).

Leave a Reply

