Skip to content

Speaking of Health Care…

July 23, 2009

Today I got a call on my workplace phone
harassing me about a healthcare bill that I can’t afford to pay right this minute
for care that was delivered by my (larger) workplace
but wasn’t completely covered by my workplace health insurance
that I’ll be able to pay when my workplace issues me my next check.

I’m sure there’s something clever or funny or sad to be said about that, but I don’t have the energy to find it at the moment.

[Which isn’t to say anything negative about my workplace, or my healthcare providers, but there was something of a depressing vicious cycle in the “Well, you pay me and I’ll pay you”-ness of it all.]

One Comment leave one →
  1. Ethel permalink
    July 24, 2009 1:16 pm

    I’ve gotten harassing calls about bills that I am not responsible for (the co-pay for an ER visit or day in the hospital is all I am responsible for). Instead of going after insurance, or perhaps because the insurance is slow and delays payment they go after us, which makes me wonder how often folks just pay up and never go after insurance for reimbursement, and why I have insurance if they don’t pay when payment is due. It wastes my time, the doctor’s time and means a lot of money is spend on collection and overhead that I’d rather see spent on, well, care!

Leave a Reply

