Skip to content

Assorted FDA-related Updates: Transparency, Tylenol, and Cookie Dough

June 30, 2009

The FDA has a transparency blog up at http://fdatransparencyblog.fda.gov/ where the agency is asking the public for comments on how they can do better at being transparent. For example, question 3 is “What tools, techniques, processes, or other mechanisms should FDA use to be more effective in providing useful and understandable information?” There are very few comments thus far, so go on over and share your thoughts.

FDA Confirms E. Coli O157:H7 in Prepackaged Nestlé Toll House Refrigerated Cookie Dough. Do not want. I’d be interested in knowing how many of the infected ate the raw dough vs. prepared cookies, because I know I never make cookies without scarfing up a bit of the raw dough. Don’t eat ’em either way for now (raw or baked), because they’ve been recalled.

FDA Approves Generic Prescription-Only Version of Plan B Emergency Contraceptive for Women Ages 17 and Under – This is getting underplayed here because I’m going to write something more thorough for OBOS soon when I have more time to read up on it.

I’m a little bummed that with all the news coverage today of the FDA and acetaminophen dosage and liver damage, that information about this isn’t somewhere obvious on the FDA homepage.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2009 6:31 pm

    Kroger called us last week and let us know it had been recalled. Unfortunately it was about a week after we ate the cookies in question. Fortunately I don’t think I ate any raw dough this time. So now I’m just wondering how long it takes e. coli to do its dirty work.

    • June 30, 2009 6:50 pm

      Kroger *called* you?!? I didn’t know they did that. Do they use the PlusCard data to do that?

      I looked it up, and it looks like most people get sick within 3-4 days if they’re going to, but the range could be something like 1-10 days. You’re probably in the clear!

  2. Donna Locke permalink
    June 30, 2009 9:52 pm

    Instinctively, I never had anything to do with Tylenol, which is a good thing, since I found out last year I was born deficient in some liver enzymes that break down drugs, especially stuff like Tylenol. So even a little Tylenol would poison me and kill my liver. But it’s dangerous for anyone. You can’t live without your liver, people. Don’t take chances with it.

  3. July 4, 2009 7:01 pm

    I was really concerned about the Tylenol news – my husband has been taking it for years, and now has what appears to be liver problems, although we don’t know yet if it is related. No more Tylenol for us! Thanks for all the information you provide.

Leave a Reply

