Skip to content

Sunday News Round-Up, Monday Style

June 29, 2009

Lauredhel just went and threw water in the hot skillet of oil that is the breastfeeding vs. formula feeding debate online. She has some demands for “those who think that society has ‘gone too far’ in supporting breastfeeding, that mothers who formula feed are demonised and breastfeeding mothers aren’t.”

You may have heard radio bits from StoryCorps, the public radio project that travels the country collecting stories from folks. There is a new related project, StoryCorps OutLoud, “project to record and preserve the voices of LGBTQ individuals across the nation.”

Thoughts are being solicited for a second Women Deliver conference in 2010.

Celebrities talking about birth (video preview related to Ricki Lake’s My Best Birth project).

At Science & Sensibility
, Amy Romano is raising the issue of healthcare costs and maternity care.

I haven’t read the study yet, but apparently there’s a new one supporting comprehensive sex education. (found via @ShelbyKnox)

Via Shakesville, people who misinterpret/misrepresent the medical literature are still pushing the repeatedly debunked abortion/breast cancer myth. [I’ve also shared a few of my clumsiest moments in a separate comment thread over there. Don’t ask me why.]

Heather Corinna of Scarleteen has a piece at RH Reality Check, How to (Un)pack for a Real Conversation About Abortion.

The New York Times on birth videos on YouTube, and the people who like to watch them. Eugene Declerq says:

“A hundred and fifty years ago women viewed birth on a pretty regular basis — they saw their sisters or neighbors giving birth,” he said, adding that it wasn’t until the late 19th century that birthing moved out of living rooms and bedrooms and into hospitals. “But now, with YouTube, we’ve come back around and women have this opportunity to view births again.”

Note, of course, that

“The majority of childbirth videos on YouTube are home births, recorded inside living rooms, bedrooms or bathtubs. In the United States, many hospitals and doctors forbid patients to record births because of liability concerns, so few American hospital birth videos appear on YouTube.”

Huge pet peeve of mine. And, yeah, it’s in the Fashion & Style section. (found via Unnecesarean.com)

Dispatches from Libraryland:
-From where libraries and Twitter and sports fans collide: @liltree mentioned she would be doing a “twitterview” with former Lady Vol and current Sparks player Candace Parker. Because I’m a dork, I DM’ed liltree a suggestion to ask Parker about her ALA library card sign-up month promotion, and liltree kindly obliged. @Candace_Parker responded that “@liltree I loved going to the library as a kid and I thought it was impt I do that to bring awareness to the many things the library offers.” Whee! Thanks to @liltree for putting my question through.
-I was pleased to see how many commenters in this thread at Shakesville suggested the original poster check the local library (for language learning resources).
-Via LibraryJournal, your guide to the best zombie literature and films.
More bad behavior from Elsevier.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2009 8:22 pm

    Well, except that what I wrote is not part of “the breastfeeding vs. formula feeding debate”. It is a feminist post about women being demonised for breastfeeding, and the mind-boggling extremes that that demonisation has exteneded to, including child removal and being threatened with guns.

    I say nothing about the relative “benefits”, “risks”, “guilt”, or whatever about the two feeding methods in that post, which is what “the breastfeeding vs formula feeding debate” is typically about. Of course, some people have decided that I have, because they see “breast” or “formula” in a sentence and the reflexes all kick in.

    • June 29, 2009 8:48 pm

      That’s a fair point. When I read your post, I was thinking of all the times I’ve come across discussion threads on the topic that have degenerated into “eww gross!” and “those darn lactivists, making life hard for everybody!” – and that of course colored my reaction to your post. I sort of assumed you had come across some of those same kinds of discussions and they were at least in part the inspiration for your post. I didn’t mean to imply that your post is about which is better, risks, benefits, etc., but that it is a reaction to how those discussions often go given time for a handful of comments to accumulate. I was also imagining the inflammatory comments such a post as you have written might draw from the same people who react as above. Does that make sense?

      And it’s not at all obvious from my language, in retrospect, but my description of your post is intended to be a positive one – I found it interesting and provocative.

  2. June 30, 2009 4:12 pm

    It’s incredible to me the amount of effort that has been given to tell us what we should or shouldn’t be doing with our own bodies. Still! I am amazed by the number of people who feel that they have the right and/or the authority to let me put my birth on YouTube, it’s my adventure, let it be seen.

Leave a Reply

