Skip to content

At Our Bodies Our Blog: Anti-Shackling Bill Passes in New York State, Lots More

May 27, 2009

Today at Our Bodies Our Blog, I have a post on a bill that would prohibit the shackling of pregnant, incarcerated women in labor that has passed both the New York state House and Assembly and is on its way to the governor for a signature. There are also links to more readings and resources on the topic of incarcerated women, especially with regards to pregnancy specifically and health generally.

Also, Christine has been kicking her usual butt with posts on Prop 8 and Sotomayor, a Double Dose, and the Political Diagnosis. I owe her huge thanks for taking up my slack during MLA last week.

Finally, don’t forget that you can follow Judy of OBOS on Twitter, connect on Facebook, and donate online (or via snail mail, if you prefer).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2009 6:09 pm

    I must not have known you were going to Hawaii, or I blocked out that fact. Otherwise I surely would have protested your absence. I even managed to refrain from being snarky after seeing your gorgeous photos! Missed ya!🙂

  2. May 31, 2009 6:38 pm

    Yeah, I tried not to do a happy dance *too* often about work sending me to Hawaii.🙂

Leave a Reply

