Skip to content

Weekly News Round-Up – Blogging Against Disablism

May 3, 2009

In lieu of my usual Sunday round-up of shiny links for the week, I’d like to call your attention to this collection of posts at Diary of a Goldfish from Friday’s Blogging Against Disablism Day. The annual blog event is intended for “disabled and non-disabled people will blog about their experiences, observations and thoughts about disability discrimination. In this way, we hope to raise awareness of inequality, promote equality and celebrate the progress we’ve made.”

There are apparently something like 200 links on the topic here, arranged into categories of: employment; education; parenting; definitions and analysis; language; healthcare; intersectionality; literature, culture, and media; history; relationships, love and sex; personal journeys; impairment-specific discrimination; general thoughts on disablism. In short, there is plenty there that is likely to be interesting and educational. I haven’t made it through all of the posts, but here are a couple that caught my attention and increased my awareness of obstacles faced by many people.

Can I have a seat? – by Lauredhel at Hoyden About Town, this post notes the lack of seating in many commercial spaces and the problem that creates, and challenges everyone to notice and say something.

An Open Letter To People On The Bus – by the Crippled Carny at A Crippled Carnival. A reminder to be considerate when electing to take up and remain in those front seats that are supposed to be relinquished to folks who need them.

The Unbearable Slowness of Being – by Lady Bracknell at The Perorations of Lady Bracknell. Until I read this post, I hadn’t thought about the problems presented by workplace fire or other emergency drills (and their proper handling), and the detailed plans that must be in place for evacuations.

Access to Healthcare – at incurable hippie’s musing and rants. Talks about access to quality care, and quite simply states: “Being listened to, being taken seriously, being treated well, are all things which everyone should be entitled to, and which everyone should receive.”

“Anyone can do it” – by Ashy at Ashy’s Blog. This particular post stood out to me because it is about the assumptions and privilege involved in proclaiming that “anyone can do it” – whatever “it” is. Someone was useful enough to set me straight on this particular issue some time ago, when I dismissed thanks for my efforts by explaining that it was no problem, that anyone could have done it. Not only was I undermining my own achievement, I was ignoring and minimizing the barriers others might have faced in encountering the same tasks. Coming from a geology undergrad and eco-friendly non-profit experience, I’ve also seen a lot of outdoorsy activities planned with assumption of universal ability to participate, often with consequences (official or otherwise) for non-participation. I hope that as I move through my career, I can keep an eye out that I’m not asking people to participate in activities “anyone” can do without considering the range of obstacles that might be between here and “it.”

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 5, 2009 1:21 pm

    Some great links to others blogs – nice one!

Leave a Reply

