Skip to content

To Everybody and Their Brother: I Have a Comments Policy

April 27, 2009

I’ve had some disturbing comments lately, so I thought it a good time to remind everyone of my comments policy. I want in no way to discourage useful, discussion-moving, informative comments from anyone – in fact, I’d love to get much, much more of that. However, for personal reasons, I need to remind everyone that:

The Comments Policy:
Comments are expected to be civil. They are also expect not to be spam. If you post a glowing comment about how awesome my blog is, but link to your internet drug site or other venture, it will be deleted. All comments are subject to deletion at my discretion. Copy/pasted propaganda that doesn’t actually make an argument will be considered spam and deleted, because I don’t have time for your nonsense. I don’t delete them just because I personally find the argument offensive (UNLESS you just keep repeating some bullshit we’ve already gone over, and it’s factually inaccurate. Really, I am not that patient), but may for any other reason. If I get tired of the same thing over and over, I’ll delete it. If you can’t find the caps lock button, I’ll delete it. If I get tired of a specific commenter’s antics – boom, gone. Finally, comments that include information that is known to be medically inaccurate may be deleted.

Also, I’m happy to have people contact me through the comments page with sites they’d like me to look at, or leave a comment on a *related* post with a link to a site and why they think I should look at it. Comments that simply link to your unrelated site (aside from the linking of your name) with no explanation (i.e. spam) will be deleted, regardless of what you’re linking to.

Now, that’s the official word, as found on my About page. Potential commenters should realize, though, that this is all at my discretion. I have no obligation to allow comments that are personally hateful or harassing to me to stand. As a recent example, it should come as no surprise that if you leave a comment suggesting that I need to have something “shoved” in my vagina, I’ll delete it. If you try to be overly familiar and creepy using information about me culled from the public internet, I’ll delete it. If you come back after that saying hateful things about your comment being deleted, you’re really just proving my point.

To everybody who does comment here in a sincere and legitimate way – I love your comments. I appreciate your comments. I want more of your comments. The above is to the small subset who just can’t seem to play nice.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. MomTFH permalink
    April 27, 2009 10:48 am

    Oh, no! I should never be surprised to find out that there are hateful trolls, but I am still shocked this happened to you. Agh.

  2. Ethel permalink
    April 28, 2009 4:57 pm

    You mean, like, you own this site or something? 😛

  3. April 28, 2009 5:49 pm

    Ethel, I know, it’s weird, right?🙂

    MomTFH, thanks – there was just a little too much of it too often for my taste, and I felt the need to point it out.

Leave a Reply

