Skip to content

Dear My Pharmacy:

April 15, 2009

When I refill my oral contraceptive, please do not substitute a differently named drug and not mention it to me when you give you give me the refill in a bag. Yes, I should have checked the bag right then and there to make sure it was right, as a matter of habit. But it would have been helpful if you had said, “We’re out of your usual, but this is the exact same dose and regimen of the exact same chemical.” You were closed by the time I noticed (so I couldn’t call), and I had to obsessively look up the info for both drugs to make sure (and not everybody would have had the resources to do that). Do not want. Thanks!🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tracy permalink
    April 15, 2009 7:37 am

    I hate when they do that — that’s why I always obsessively check my drugs when I pick them up. At least you are aware and have the resources to make sure you weren’t given something weird.

  2. April 15, 2009 11:27 am

    I’ve had the best experience with my pharmacy here in St. Louis. I got pretty sick last December and was prescribed a strong anti-biotic. When I went to fill it, the pharmacist saw on the computer that I’m also on Yaz, reminded me that the anti-biotic could weaken it, and that I should use a second form of birth control for the time being. That’s important and necessary information, and that’s what a pharmacist is supposed to do!

Leave a Reply

