Skip to content

LJ Movers and Shakers 2009

March 15, 2009

There’s no good way to introduce this, except to just say that I was named one of Library Journal’s “Movers & Shakers” this year. In the “Activists” category. The events of last year’s POPLINE controversy figure heavily in the profile.

It’s awkward to see myself in someone else’s words and to have so little of my everyday work the focus, to not have the control to make sure Gloria Won – the librarian who tipped off the medlib listserv about POPLINE – is appropriately credited or to give a nod to my colleagues who have encouraged and mentored me. I’m pleased with the profile, but wonder if I’m always that dorky, or just in the chosen quotes. Oh, well.

I’ve learned that my thanks go to David for the nomination. Congratulations to fellow medical librarians Melissa Rethlefsen and Dean Giustini, also on this year’s list. I’ve been following Melissa, Jason Griffey, and others on various social networking sites (FriendFeed in particular), and it’s very cool to see myself alongside them and many others on this list.

Now, I’ve been trying to tell those Shovers and Makers that some of us are non-crafty and aspire to be non-violent, and that they should consider this and strive to be more inclusive…😉

20 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2009 6:11 am

    Hurray!!!! That is so awesome. Wow. Just wow. Congratulations. Do you get some kind of special hat you can wear at work today?

  2. March 16, 2009 6:41 am

    Hip, Hip HOORAY. I can’t think of anyone more deserving because you rock.

  3. March 16, 2009 6:59 am

    Thanks, you two. ‘Coma, I think that’s a sore spot about Movers & Shakers – that there are actually *so many* librarians around the world doing awesome things, there are tons of deserving folks who don’t get recognized each year. But I’m honored to be among those who were recognized this year.

  4. Michelle Kraft permalink
    March 16, 2009 8:34 am

    Congratulations.🙂
    I am very happy for you.

  5. Polly permalink
    March 16, 2009 8:42 am

    Rachel – You rock girlfriend! 🙂

  6. Becky permalink
    March 16, 2009 8:47 am

    Congratulations! well deserved🙂

  7. Michelle permalink
    March 16, 2009 9:04 am

    I aspire to be a librarian as awesome as you. Congratulations!

  8. Sheila permalink
    March 16, 2009 11:38 am

    Nice! You totally deserve the recognition!

  9. March 16, 2009 1:03 pm

    [applauds]

  10. Tracy permalink
    March 16, 2009 4:26 pm

    Congrats, Rachel! Well deserved honor. You set a high bar for the rest of us.

  11. March 16, 2009 6:21 pm

    Congratulations!

  12. Ellen Detlefsen permalink
    March 16, 2009 7:26 pm

    Way to go, Rachel! SIS is very proud of you (and also of the other two SIS alumnae–young adult and youth librarians from PA and NJ–who were also named as honorees by LJ this year)! Your success makes us look good

    in peace! Ellen

  13. March 16, 2009 7:38 pm

    Thanks, everybody! And Ellen, I’ll have to seek out my fellow alumni and congratulate them!

  14. March 16, 2009 7:43 pm

    Everybody, the other Pitt SIS alumni this year are Ingrid Kalchthaler and Carlie Webber. I should point out my fellow Panthers are in the Activists (like me) and Advocates categories, respectively – coincidence?😉

  15. March 17, 2009 9:54 am

    Rachel, congratulations. You do deserve the recognition.

  16. March 17, 2009 5:10 pm

    Congrats! You deserve recognition for the work you do, which is appreciated even by us hicks out here in OK🙂 Thanks!

  17. March 27, 2009 7:08 pm

    I’m honored to be in the same M&S class as you, Rachel! I hope that following me on Friendfeed hasn’t just been one long string of pics of my daughter.🙂

  18. March 28, 2009 11:29 am

    Griffey, likewise, except I hope you’ll look away from my frequent cat photos.🙂

  19. Kristen permalink
    May 19, 2009 10:33 pm

    Congratulations! Keep it up! Well deserved!🙂

Trackbacks

  1. My God Demands Your Suffering as a Sacrifice and Other Random Things « Tiny Cat Pants

Leave a Reply

