Skip to content

“My Beautiful Cervix” – A Cervical Photo Diary

December 3, 2008

Via Aunt B at Tiny Cat Pants, I learned of mybeautifulcervix, in which a student midwife documents a month of cervical changes through photographs. It’s really freakin’ cool (and not for the squeamish), and makes it really clear how the cervical mucus changes throughout a cycle.

Note: Due to high traffic/being flagged for “inappropriate” images, My Beautiful Cervix has moved to http://beautifulcervix.com/

Some people do use awareness of cervical mucus changes as part of a family planning regime – Planned Parenthood and the Feminist Women’s Health Center both have information on fertility awareness and the cervical mucus method.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2008 9:35 pm

    I have a friend who uses the cervical mucus method. Or rather, she said that she “checked her cervical fluids” daily, but I was unclear on what that meant and supposed it had something to do with volume of fluid rather than viscuousity.
    SO COOL.
    I respect and am awed by this method, since it seems to work for the friend and demands a high level of engagement with the body. But I guess that reproductive freedom means different things to different people, and for me right now it means that I’m free to *not* check my cervix every day.

  2. December 4, 2008 8:12 am

    My wife was just about to start doing that to determine her fertility, but then she got pregnant.

  3. December 4, 2008 8:23 am

    W, yeah, it doesn’t work as well for planning if you’re already pregnant.😉

    Tanglethis, indeed – to me it seems like one of the more labor-intensive methods, and would require that you have time and a space each day where you’re going to be comfortable checking your cervix. Very cool, though.

  4. December 4, 2008 3:52 pm

    The normal method for checking one’s cervix takes less than two minutes:
    *Wash hands
    *Put one or two fingers inside the vagina, find the cervix
    *Notice how firm the cervix is, how open the os is, and/or how far in your fingers go before hitting the cervix
    *All done!

    It requires an organized person to commit to doing that most days (a few days missed here or there don’t matter), but I wouldn’t call it labor-intensive.

  5. December 4, 2008 6:42 pm

    Lyrl, I must have somehow fooled you wrt how fundamentally lazy I secretly am (you know, when I’m not working full time, writing for here or OBOS, or otherwise occupied).🙂

  6. July 9, 2010 2:27 am

    Hello! It’s my first time to visit your site. And i love it. Love your theme and the quality of every content to have it here. Fresh and new ideas and thoughts. Thanks for sharing your quality of time and effort for making this.

Trackbacks

  1. flip flopping joy » Blog Archive » Your Cervix through the month
  2. Update: Cervical Photo Diary « Women’s Health News

Leave a Reply

