Skip to content

In Which I Share My Thoughts on KY Yours & Mine

November 7, 2008

Earlier this week, I was waiting around the drug store for a prescription, and was able to take a good long look at the crotch aisle (condoms, lube, and pregnancy tests) as the products were actually on the aisle rather than locked up in a case.

Now, I’ve recently been seeing commercials for KY Yours & Mine, and was curious enough to read the package. The “Yours” is supposed to be “for him” and the “Mine” is supposed to be “for her,” so I will now refer to them as “his” and “hers.”We’re going to leave aside for now the obviously problematic nature of assuming all sex takes place between “him” and “her.”

Get this: his has sweeteners – honey and sucralose (which is Splenda!) – while hers has “fragrance.” Seriously. Hers does not have sweeteners, and his does not have “fragrance.”

Now, I suppose it’s possible that the other ingredients in his just taste terrible and need some help, and the other ingredients in hers smell bad and also need a boost. The message I’m going to walk away with, though, because I think it’s more likely, is that his (and only his) body is for tasting while hers is naturally stinky.

Harumph.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2008 8:40 am

    I would have come to the same conclusion. Although I did read a blog post written by a woman who said the product was amazing.

  2. Brandi Tuttle permalink
    November 7, 2008 8:51 am

    Perhaps no sugars in hers because of potential yeast infections? But really this is all offensive.

    Excellent point about the his and her assumption…I hope someday we’ll be a more open to other realities. After all we are all consumers!

    I recommend Astroglide!

  3. bridgett permalink
    November 7, 2008 8:51 am

    I read the headline quickly and thought that someone was marketing a marital aid specifically
    for Kentuckians.

  4. November 7, 2008 11:05 am

    I thought of the yeast infection thing, too, although I still would have gotten the same impression and find it pretty annoying.

    Do artificial sweeteners have the same effects as sugars do when it comes to infections?

  5. November 7, 2008 12:08 pm

    I find KY not all that useful as a lubricant. (I’m perimenopausal and a lot more aware of these issues than I wish I were.) But I am incredibly amused at the thought of Gaylord Perry trying to figure out which version to use. And if you have to google Gaylord Perry to get the joke, remember, that’s why I’m perimenopausal and the rest of you aren’t.

  6. November 7, 2008 6:15 pm

    I would assume I’d have allergy issues with a fragrance in my lubricant – no thanks! I also have always thought flavored lube was weird, but once the lube comes out, I’m done with the oral sex.

  7. November 7, 2008 6:35 pm

    I love that you all commented on this, and also that I’m not the only one who found this annoying at best. Relatedly, one of our friends gave me and the husband what I call a “family size” bottle of Astroglide as a wedding present, and it still tickles me that somebody did that.🙂
    Bridgett, great, now I’m trying to think of what form of promotion the state of Kentucky could be doing with KY. Hee.

  8. Catie permalink
    November 19, 2008 10:45 pm

    The thing that gets me is that if the sugar product is going to cause a yeast infection so much to not put it in the female lube, it’s going in anyway b/c it’s for sex! There will be penetration.

    And I thought it was common knowledge that since men don’t live on a diet of fruit that using something to sweeten up the taste of the penis and it’s…excretions….was normal and made it more pleasing for a woman to perform oral sex. Also the fragrance side for women…most men find a fragrance on a woman to be enticing. Sort of a “she smells good, what does she REALLY smell like.” Though when I used this, I noticed the perfume wasn’t really that strong.

    Hopefully this won’t make anyone upset, but I find it interesting that you would get annoyed at the fact that someone could’ve possibly hinted at stereotypical misconceptions about the male and female scents/tastes. Also, speaking from someone who has several friends that are homosexual, there is a distinct “Male” personality and a “female” personality in each match, from what I understand. So “His” and “Hers” can still be humorously attached.

    Have a sense of humor about sex, don’t make it something so serious that no one wants to have sex with you. It’s fun, enjoyable, spiritual, sensual and exciting. Being downright stoic isn’t something most people think of when discussing sex.

  9. November 20, 2008 10:14 am

    Catie, no, it’s not “common knowledge” that because men “don’t live on a diet of fruit” that they need to be corrected via sweeteners, if by “common knowledge” you mean that it’s some kind of universally accepted truth. Women don’t “live on a diet of fruit” either, and there is nothing *inherently wrong* with the genitals of either sex as a whole.

    I also have to object to your directive to “have a sense of humor” – there are a number of topics that may be related to sex in some way that are well worth having a serious discussion about or commenting on in some way. That doesn’t mean that all people engaged in those conversations are giving lectures with notes and serious faces in the sack – it just means that they are engaged with the topic in a way that allows them to discuss issues without needing a blanket “lighten up” rule.

    In general, I’ll refer you to this refutation of the classic discussion thread-killing tactic, “Shouldn’t you be talking about More Important Things?” Shakesville has a very good comment on why we shouldn’t refuse to talk about the “little things” here, and I’ll quote just a piece of it:

    “The idea that feminism should be kept under glass, broken only in case of a ‘big’ emergency, is predicated on the erroneous assumption that ‘the little things,’ like video games, happen in a void, but they don’t…in a very real way, ignoring ‘the little things’ makes the big ones that much harder to eradicate, because it is the pervasive, ubiquitous, inescapable little things that create the foundation of the culture on which the big stuff is dependent for its survival.”

    In your case, just replace “feminism” with “talking about things in general.”

  10. December 1, 2008 7:16 pm

    They are simply preying on the fears of the average consumer. You have an American public that is alternately fascinated and repulsed by sex, as well as it’s assorted sights and smells. That’s why women purchase douche and FDS to “cover it up.” Very silly.

  11. saratron permalink
    October 23, 2009 2:25 pm

    The fact that there is splenda in the product is a bit…unusual, to say the least. I guess it’s for the figure conscious consumer..lol?? The only smell I noticed (though not over powering)is peppermint. It’s messy, but it does feel fantastic(in my humble opinion)!:)

  12. Ian permalink
    February 10, 2010 7:58 pm

    How come this NEW product is on the market in New Zealand with such a short expiry date … July this year. At $30 …. 50% up on standard in a smaller pack and damned hard to use .. it’s all a bit suspicious … maybe the maker has actaully launched a dud and is using TV ads to move short dated stock through retailers.

Trackbacks

  1. [body impolitic] My Lube Is Mine, and Your Lube Is, Well, Diet Sweetener

Leave a Reply

