Skip to content

PS-Jon Stewart on the Air Quotes

October 31, 2008

Earlier in the week, I mentioned Samantha Bee’s excellent take on John McCain’s air quotes around women’s “health.” Last night, Daily Show host Jon Stewart also mentioned it in an interview with conservative Weekly Standard editor Bill Kristol.

Kristol asked, “Do you really think McCain is the same as Bush and Cheney?”

Stewart’s response: “Listen, I have great fondness and affection for John McCain. I would have voted for him if he had made it against Gore, quite frankly, in 2000. The guy that I see now, putting air quotes around women’s health, and doing all the things that he does, I don’t know what that is. And if that’s a strategy that’s disingenuous from how he really thinks, then my opinion of him is even lower.”

If you watch the standalone Kristol segment on the Daily Show site, this portion begins around 5:38.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2008 2:46 pm

    Yes, I did see that, and I loved Jon Stewart even more, which I didn’t think was possible. About 6 months ago, one of my few complaints about him was that he tackles plenty of tough issues, such as war, homosexuality, torture, but never mentioned women’s rights or freedom of choice.

    After he said that to Bill Kriston I really, really wished Jon Stewart were younger, single, and lived near me so I could propose to him!

  2. Susanna permalink
    November 2, 2008 9:31 am

    Aren’t we so grateful for the crumbs from the table. Most of the time, Jon Stewart is a jerk towards women, using the term “bitch” all the time (for equality’s sake, why not “nigger” as well?), not to speak of the treatment Clinton received in his show. Just for that, I voted for McKinney. These guys are a little bit too sure that Clinton’s women voters will come around and fall in line and vote for the candidate the good ole boys of the Democrtic Party have chosen for them. Not this woman!

Leave a Reply

