Skip to content

Some Updates on the HHS Conscience Regulation

October 24, 2008

First, I haven’t heard or seen anything at all that lets me know where we are on this. However, Emily has a recent piece up at RH Reality Check with some relevant recent correspondence between the Institute for Policy Integrity and the Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs (I know, it sounds wonky, but it’s not so bad, I promise).

Next, although public comments can take some time to post, it appears that HHS only loaded ~5,315 public comments received on the proposal, and has not loaded any since October 7th (indicating that perhaps they are done or have stopped). I don’t know exactly how many comments were actually submitted, but reports from organizations who assisted their members in commenting indicate that the number should have been in the 200,000+ range. I’m hoping to find out more about this. In the meantime, I was able to find my own comment among those posted – can you find yours?

Finally, RHRC also has a great video on the topic from their new “Our Reality” series, with interviews with reproductive health providers on how the proposed regulation might affect their work.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2008 9:07 pm

    How would I look for my comment? I don’t see any way to search by name of the commentor, and 5,000+ documents is an awful lot to click on to view the name of the person making it.

  2. October 26, 2008 7:54 am

    Lyrl, I’m not sure the site tells you explicitly that you can do this, but it does work to enter your name in the search box – then you may need to click on the options on the left on the results page to narrow it down to HHS and Public Submissions.

  3. October 26, 2008 12:34 pm

    Thanks for the tip, Rachel, I had tried that yesterday and come up with zero results, so thought I was doing it wrong. I played around with the options and confirmed the search box does work to find names… but not mine. My comment is not posted. I submitted through the ACLU’s website.

  4. October 27, 2008 10:09 am

    Lyrl, hmmm, I wonder if they haven’t posted comments that came through orgs like ACLU… thanks for that info.

  5. October 27, 2008 12:33 pm

    I don’t see my comment.

  6. October 27, 2008 12:51 pm

    Argh. I am trying to find out what is going on here – will keep you posted. nm, did you comment directly via Regulations.gov, or through another organization?

  7. October 27, 2008 1:25 pm

    I was trying to figure this out and I can’t remember. I saw so many blog posts on so many blogs asking me to comment, and after playing around in my head with what I wanted to say for a week or so I clicked through on one of them. I think it took me right to the gov’t page, but I could not swear that it wasn’t someone else’s “put your message in the box and we’ll send it to you” page.

Leave a Reply

