Skip to content

Banned Books Week

September 29, 2008

It’s Banned Books Week. As a librarian, I want to take this opportunity to say thank you to my fellow librarians who stand up to the attempts of individuals to restrict a community’s freedom to read.

I was thinking about this last week – I’ve noticed that when I’m reading on the bus, I have a tendency to be less obvious about the books I’m reading on controversial topics, like the just-finished Reproductive Rights in a Global Context. I think I’m a little shy about people butting in and asking me about my book, as my fellow riders have done on multiple occasions. As a Banned Books Week pledge, I’m just going to get over and be seen reading, whatever the topic.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. earlgreyrooibos permalink
    September 30, 2008 1:23 pm

    I tend to be less obvious, too. For example, over the weekend, I started a book entitled “Choices We Made,” which presents perspectives about abortion. Now, the subject matter of the book was plainly obvious on the cover, in the subtitle. I took a different book with me to work on Monday (I read while in the gym), and left “Choices” at home to finish in the evening. It’s just not something I feel comfortable taking to work, even though I think most of my coworkers are fairly liberal.

  2. October 13, 2008 12:31 pm

    Excellent post.

    I think I’m going to make a tradition of reading at least one banned book during banned books week.😀

Leave a Reply

