Skip to content

Miscellany

September 18, 2008

No, really, this is truly miscellaneous junk.

Your blogger is officially in her 30s now. This is one of the best birthday cards I’ve received this week.🙂

Our medical center is now smoke-free even everywhere outside. The smoke patrol guys have a Segway, and I have to figure out how to get them to let me ride it.

Yesterday, I got a new driver’s license and actually got a good picture. I also got a new public library card, which reminds me to let you know that my Goodreads account is online here. Feel free to browse and make suggestions to me here for things I should read.

As for the library, I was a little aggravated to find that several items I wanted to read and were marked as available in the catalog were not on the shelf. I also had to resist the urge to fix bits of the fiction section that had become improperly alphabetized. Ahem.

Bitch magazine needs donations to stay afloat, and has more information about this on their site. I read my first copy of Bitch when it was brought to me by a coworker while I was recovering from thyroid surgery. It’s one of the best magazines out there, in my opinion.

I have the best nurse practitioner for my primary care stuff. That is all.🙂

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2008 8:46 am

    happy belated birthday!!

  2. September 18, 2008 10:00 am

    Well, happy birthday! As one who’s been in her 30s for a (short) while, I must say, it’s SO much better than the 20s! Of course, that could have something to do with some of the changes in life circumstance. But whateva!🙂

    So what I really wanted to comment on was your lack of realphabetizing the misplaced books. How did you do that?! I have never had that much self-control. Either that, or I’m have entirely too much anal-retention, which is much more likely the case.

    As a little birthday present, thank you for having this great blog. Since I just can’t handle all the pregnant women on my usual birth-advocacy blogs, I went wandering for other woman-empowering reads, and I’m really glad to have found this one. So thanks.

  3. September 18, 2008 11:05 am

    Thanks to you both! Pixie, if I’d been at the library by myself, I’m sure I would have fixed them – I was there with somebody else who was waiting on me and does not share my anal-retention!🙂

  4. September 18, 2008 2:13 pm

    LOL Okay, I can understand not book-fixing, then. Thankfully, I’m usually there with my kids, who are learning anal-retention at my knee on a near-daily basis, so they don’t gripe. And, well, everybody else that goes to the library with me tends to try to forgive my half-trained-librarian foibles😀

  5. Jen permalink
    September 18, 2008 4:39 pm

    Why would you resist the urge to fix the fiction shelf?😉 Happy belated birthday.

  6. missedconceptions permalink
    September 18, 2008 9:01 pm

    Life is short; fix the fiction shelf.

    Happy belated birthday!

    Bitch magazine rocks. I give my old copies to students, because it seems wrong to place something that well written in the recycling bin.

Leave a Reply

