Skip to content

What to Expect When You’re Aborting

September 6, 2008

You may have seen this already, but a young woman has set up a blog to describe her experience of seeking abortion. Of course, it’s difficult to know online whether it’s for real, but the posts provide frankness and bit of humor.

The blog launched with a post containing a picture of a positive pregnancy test and noting the following practicalities:

Things I need to figure out

1. Does my insurance cover abortions?

2. Is there a more pleasant, less politically charged term I can use than abortion?

3. How far along am I?

4. Can I just use the pill?

I’m not freaking out yet. I hate whenever some mistake I make puts me in a hospital. I’m dreading the idea of getting a vacuum in my vadge more than any moral ramifications. Or existential traumas. As much as I want to be casual and calm about this the gravity of it keeps expanding.

The blogger has gone on to assess her options, compare the security of Planned Parenthood clinics to Baghdad checkpoints, list the handful of movies that deal with abortion, and critique abortion coverage in film and other media.

Check it out.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Martha permalink
    September 6, 2008 2:45 pm

    I had one many years ago when it was not even legal. I did it all on my own with no counseling or approval by anyone. I do not reget it at all and many years later encouraged my daughter to have hers. As far as the physical part, it was not even a blip on my life’s chart. I seldom think of it unless I am reading all the propaganda associated with it now. I know each of us has a different set of values, however, unless you have other physical complications during the first part of your pregnancy, it is not a very uncomfortable process at all. I was doing all my normal activities the very next day. And I was a VERY active ‘jockette’. I even was a brides maid the next weekend. Lucky lucky you whom are not breaking the law!!

  2. December 10, 2008 6:56 am

    I found her blog super inspiring and have started my own abortion blog to keep track of all the confusing thoughts and messages I’ve been having/getting as I wait for my own abortion to take place next week. You can read it at myabortionblog.tumblr.com

Leave a Reply

