Skip to content

Friday Reader Question Forum

August 1, 2008

Sometimes I think there is great value in just having a place to say, “Dude! That happens to me, too!” – like the comments to a previous post on lost tampons. If you have a question or issue you’d like to pose to the readers, pass it along via the Contact form and I might post it for feedback one Friday. Here’s our weird question for the day:

“Does anybody else ever have a sudden pain, like a muscle cramp, in their belly button that seems to run in a straight line all the way down to the urethra?”

I used to know a girl who swore that being poked in the navel made her have to pee – I’m thinking these must be related. You?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2008 8:59 am

    I thought I was the only one. If you poke at my belly button, I have to pee. I’m one of those girls.😉

  2. August 1, 2008 9:02 am

    Newscoma, I need to go poke myself in the belly button… oh! me too! I think! […needs to brush up on anatomy for possible explanations…]

  3. Emily permalink
    August 1, 2008 9:31 am

    Same here. I find not poking myself in the belly button eleviates this problem. Amazing huh?

  4. August 1, 2008 9:39 am

    Emily, brilliant solution!😉

  5. Emily permalink
    August 1, 2008 10:05 am

    My mother always said I was one clever cookie.

  6. August 2, 2008 1:22 pm

    My younger sister had debilitating back pain for over a year (she ended up having a vertebrae fusion, which resolved it). During that time, she had related pain. This included sciatica, pain that runs down one leg. It also included severe clitoral pain.

    I can’t even imagine.

  7. onesillyme permalink
    August 2, 2008 8:42 pm

    I thought EVERYONE had to pee when poked in the belly button. No?

  8. Susanna permalink
    August 4, 2008 4:30 am

    Just tried it. Nope!

    But tell me more about the fused vertebrae… Though I don’t have sciatica.

    Does anybody have a solution to tailbone pain? I solved the problem sort of, by sitting on a stool with a concave sitting-part and a thin cushion. Side effect: my back pain, that I had solved by leaning backwards in a state-of-the-art office chair, has come back.

Trackbacks

  1. Friday Reader Question Forum – #2 « Women’s Health News

Leave a Reply

