Skip to content

Overheard on the Bus

July 31, 2008

“I almost hope I have to have a c-section so my mother-in-law can’t be in the room.”

*Boggles* That is probably slightly paraphrased, because I overheard it a while ago and just thought of it again this morning. I was kicking around whether relaying it violated anyone’s privacy, but it was on a public bus, and there are no identifying details, soooo….

I’ve had a couple of surgeries, neither of which were abdominal. As a result of those experiences, one of my goals in life is to avoid further surgery as much as is reasonably possible. I’d rather tell my own mother to take a flying leap than have surgery to avoid having to speak my mind, but then again, she raised me a bit mouthy.😉

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    August 1, 2008 10:22 am

    I didn’t know how to get rid of my IL’s during labour with my first child. So I asked my nurse if she knew how to get rid of them. She must have done a good job because that was the last I saw of them and didn’t even deal with the usual backhanded comments afterwards.

    I think you have to meet some in-laws before saying that you could easily stand up to them. lol

  2. August 1, 2008 10:37 am

    I’m sure you’re right about meeting the in-laws – although I had it in my mind that the nurses would come to someone’s aid, so thanks for explicitly mentioning that!

  3. August 1, 2008 12:49 pm

    I’m still figuring out how to get rid of stand up to my mother-in-law. I’m still have complications from my c-section. it was awful. But I think I’d have rather had the c-section than have my mother and m-i-l in the labour with me.

    This is what it would have been like:

    My mom: You’re not trying hard enough, that’s usually your problem. I’m bored, do more to entertain me.

    My m-i-l: You’re probably having a hard time because you’re fat.

  4. August 1, 2008 12:58 pm

    Vol Abroad, here’s how that scenario would have gone down in my family. [Ahem. Not that this would happen in real life. Just hypothetically. Ahem.]

    My MiL: You’re probably having a hard time because you’re fat.

    Me: FU, you f’ing cow. [Not that I would talk to her this way normally. Just if she said anything like that in that situation.]

    My mom: MiL, you need to get out of here right now. [after MiL leaves, to me] Honey, that wasn’t nice, you shouldn’t speak to your MiL that way.

Leave a Reply

