Skip to content

Distracted

July 24, 2008

This is my poor baby girl, Ella, who I found out yesterday has inoperable metastatic adenocarcinoma. Let me tell you, having an office with no ceiling that you share with a dude is less than ideal when you’re weeping like a little girl. Ella’s not a “baby” of course – she’s about 8 going on 9 – and is one of the sweetest animals I’ve ever known.

This was very sudden – she had no apparent masses on exam just a little more than a week prior to the biospy. We had taken her back to the vet following being seen for a minor eye thing because I noticed that she was louder when drinking water and doing something funny with dry cat food – the kitties, they’re subtle. Blog posts may be infrequent. Right now we are just keeping her comfortable and have had “the conversation” with the vet.

By the way, if you are in the Nashville area, Dr. Ross at the Nashville Cat Clinic is just about all you could ask for in a vet. Knowledgeable *and* kind – he talked to me on the phone for 20 minutes or more yesterday when the biopsy results came in.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2008 8:21 am

    Oh no! How terrible, Rachel. Please let us know if there’s anything we can do.

  2. July 24, 2008 8:23 am

    I’m so sorry. Sending you many good thoughts.

  3. July 24, 2008 10:05 am

    Oh Rachel, I am so sorry. I’m all teary for your right now. Please know that you are in my thoughts.

  4. Stacey permalink
    July 24, 2008 10:42 am

    My sympathies go out to you, Rachel. Being a “cat woman” myself I understand how upset you must be. My cats are my babies and I don’t know how I would cope if they had a fatal illness😦 My thoughts are with you and Ella.

  5. July 24, 2008 11:56 am

    That is a beautiful orange companion you have. I’m sure she knows she’s loved and I know you’ll make her as comfortable as you can. Aw, that made me tear up.

  6. July 24, 2008 12:51 pm

    Thank you all very much.

  7. Sheila permalink
    July 24, 2008 2:15 pm

    Bummer, Rachel. I have a cat too that we ignore most of the time until visitors come over and fall in love her. I forget too often how lucky we are to have her around and now come to think of it I would be crushed if she were to disappear from our lives. My thoughts are with you. Enjoy this time together. I am sure she will revel in it.
    Sheila

  8. July 24, 2008 3:19 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear that. *hugs*

  9. July 24, 2008 6:23 pm

    oh, Rachel, hugs to you. I’m sad for you and your very pretty baby. I have 3 kitties and would be devastated. And hugs to Ella too.

  10. Roger permalink
    July 24, 2008 6:30 pm

    I have cats and dogs too, so I know the pain all too well, including coming completely unglued a couple of times. Take comfort, Rachel. Ella will go to Heaven. With a little luck, we may get there too.

  11. July 25, 2008 3:20 am

    My sympathies. I had a cat that had an unexpected cancer diagnosis and she was only 6. It was awful. But with a good vet, the last moments can be a peaceful parting. Someone who had a similar experience told me that before we had to make that final trip and it offered me comfort. And it was true, too.

    Enjoy being with your cat as long as you humanely can.

  12. Susanna permalink
    July 25, 2008 4:18 am

    That totally sucks. Be brave!

Trackbacks

  1. Farewell, Ms. Ella « Women’s Health News

Leave a Reply

