Skip to content

Random WTF of the Not-So-Serious Variety

July 15, 2008

I left a dirty yogurt spoon on my desk last night. It wasn’t covered in yogurt – it had just been used and not yet washed. This morning, I find the eating end wrapped in a tissue.

Those are Rainier cherries in the pitiful cell camera picture, and they are my new favorite fruit. No, they’re not exactly local. Standing by for someone to tell me that there is something awful about how these are brought to market. Otherwise, anybody know if I can pit and freeze these babies for out-of-season uses?

The Sergeant who is my new community liaison must have done something right, because there hasn’t been a single truck in the lot since the day she said she’d send an extra patrol and find out what the drivers were up to.

Supermousey, could you please go take a look at this editing of a pic of Jennifer Hudson? Note that it really takes a minute, especially if you are not well-versed in anatomy or what an individual actually looks like, to realize that the image is a creation and not reality.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. A'Llyn permalink
    July 15, 2008 2:37 pm

    You realize that people have to brutally pull the wings off pixies to harvest each cherry, right?

    My mom used to can cherries, as well as dry them, and they were plenty good. We didn’t have a freezer at the time, so I can’t speak to that, but my guess would be that they freeze just fine. I say go for it!

    Then, when it gets cold, mail me some.

  2. July 15, 2008 3:54 pm

    I may give it a try. And thanks, I needed that chuckle.🙂

  3. Jen permalink
    July 16, 2008 8:41 am

    Rachel,
    not sure if this is still true, but I know one of my friends used to get her rainier cherries at Sams and said the price was excellent and they were good.

  4. July 23, 2008 7:07 am

    Also my mom used to can cherries, as well as dry them, and they were plenty good. We didn’t have a freezer at the time, so I can’t speak to that, but my guess would be that they freeze just fine. I say go for it!

Leave a Reply

