Skip to content

OBOS Post: When Drug Marketing Creeps into Television Programming

May 21, 2008

Today at Our Bodies Our Blog, we’re talking about what happened when the season finale of medical drama “House” mentioned the drug amantadine as a key plot point, product placement of pharmaceuticals (such as NuvaRing) in television shows, and the basically nonexistent regulation and monitoring of drug product placement on television. Come check it out.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2008 7:46 pm

    I noticed the other day on House that he prescribed a drug I’m taking (a generic) to someone (it was like I was famous!).

  2. May 21, 2008 7:48 pm

    As a matter of statistics, he’d have to prescribe one of the drugs I’m taking to someoen sometime or another. My medicine cabinet is like a fricking pharmacy right now!

  3. Jen permalink
    May 23, 2008 12:55 pm

    I don’t know that I mind it on House, in particular, and medical shows in general. House tends to tell people in the clinic that they’re idiots for wanting antibiotics when they have the flu (and Grey’s has done the same, although with better bedside manners).

    Speaking of Grey’s, the clinical trials story line kind of cracked me up. I suspect that only in TV can you go one episode (and theoretically only a few weeks at most) from suggesting a clinical trial to executing one, and one with several failures right off the bat.

  4. May 23, 2008 1:23 pm

    Jen, the House example wasn’t paid as far as I know, but I found it interesting that the drug became a hot Google search, and am guessing most people didn’t find the CDC document in which they do not recommend amantadine for the flu.🙂 The medical shows definitely have to mention *some* products (whether generically or by brand name) to move the plot along. I find it a little more troubling when it’s a paid placement, like those NuvaRing posters on Scrubs.

Leave a Reply

