Skip to content

w00t!

May 15, 2008

California Court Affirms Right to Gay Marriage

[Hat tip to Christine over at the OBOS blog.]

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Nikki permalink
    May 16, 2008 9:15 pm

    Seems strange to me that now you are “woot”-ing about this decision, yet I would bet that you would have an entirely different perspective had the court overturned the peoples’ referendum FOR gay marriage…in any event, this article states that the decision “represents the right of an individual to establish a legally recognized family with a person of one’s choice and, as such, is of fundamental significance both to society and to the individual.” Hmm…isn’t it the “society” and specifically the majority of those “individuals)–60%, if I’m not mistaken–who VOTED that they DON’T want this? If this court claims to represent the interests of the people and society to whom it cites it owes a duty of service, perhaps that duty is to leave a legitimate vote well enough alone, regardless of whether or not the court is in favor of the outcome. When I cast a vote on referendum, I don’t want a court telling me what I want and need–I voted on what I want and need, thank you very much. Apparently, the people of CA agree. I look forward to the legal fallout from this decision–I eagerly anticipate the news of the appeal, and if this sees the floor of the Supreme Court, God help this country if this decision is allowed to stand!

  2. May 16, 2008 10:08 pm

    Nikki, I obviously disagree.

Trackbacks

  1. California Love: Gay Marriage Approved In Second State : Post Politics: Political News and Views in Tennessee

Leave a Reply

