Skip to content

Because Eating Food is Important, Too

April 28, 2008

I apologize for the lack of posts over the last few days – I had two sets of out of town visitors this weekend, and am currently recovering from the festivities. And you know what? I spent too much money, and it’s looking like most folks I know are increasingly experiencing higher gas and food prices and having less room to blow the budget. Many people were already feeling the pinch, and by no means do I want to suggest that I only care because I’m starting to notice it in my own pocketbook – I’m just surprised by what I’m hearing from other people with ostensibly “good” jobs, and how packed my city bus now is on the way to work at the University.

In light of this, I want to suggest a couple of resources that have helped me be more frugal:

Home Ec 101 – If you have a housekeeping or cooking-related question, these ladies can answer it. Menus are posted on Mondays, and they generally keep frugality in mind. There’s a little bit of everything here – today’s post is on politely declining invitations when you can’t afford to go out – so make it a regular stop for simple, non-spendy solutions to household problems. (Can you tell that I know these ladies and adore them?)

Hillbilly Housewife – I actually learned about this site from the Home Ec 101 ladies mentioned above. It includes emergency $45 and $70 menus to feed a family of 4 for a week. In my household of 2, this really stretches the budget, even if all of the options aren’t the healthiest. Health takes a back seat to hunger, in my opinion, and you can pick and choose recipes if they don’t all suit your dietary needs. I’ve personally made the “lentil chili,” served over the HH cornbread recipe, and it was excellent. I’m definitely going to try more of the suggestions, modifying according to what I have in my fridge and need to use (such as substituting fresh onions for onion powder in the lentil recipe). HH also provides recipes for use with food boxes from…

…Angel Food Ministries – I haven’t personally tried AFM yet, but I’m seriously considering it. For $30, you get a box of food with an ~$60 retail value, and the “menu” changes every month. You would typically order and pick up your food through a nearby church, and there are no applications or qualifications in order to participate. The “menus” I’ve seen from some past months were a little heavy on some canned/processed goods, but again, this may help you get through a month. Orders typically need to be placed pretty early (a few weeks in advance), so check the website and your local AFM site for details.

Veering away from food, if you’re in the TVA service area for electricity, you can receive a free energy conservation kit if you fill out an online or paper energy audit form. The kit includes a couple of compact fluorescent light bulbs, outlet gaskets, faucet aerators, and other items and tips to help you save energy. If you’re not a TVA customer, check on whether your utility is providing a similar service. You might also be able to get on a “budget billing” program that spreads your utility costs out over the year rather than varying wildly with the seasons.

Don’t forget that some stores (such as Wal-Mart and Target) are now offering many generic prescription drugs for $4. Even if you’re like me and have a work pharmacy that offers employee discounts, you may still save by going elsewhere. [Update: nm reminds me that Kroger also has a $4 generics program, and is unionized, unlike the other two stores.] Also, if you don’t have health insurance or take a prescription drug not covered by your insurance, it pays to call around. I recently checked prices for one drug at several pharmacies, and found a $40-$50 difference in the price of a one-month supply.

Finally, don’t forget that you may be able to go to community clinics, your local health department, and/or Planned Parenthood for some of your healthcare needs.

Any other suggestions?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. snikta permalink
    April 29, 2008 8:14 am

    I did the energy audit yesterday, and thanks for the heads up. I’m glad to see that AFM’s site is working today. I think it was overloaded yesterday, as there was a news story about it over the weekend. And I’m getting ready to look at Hillbilly Housewife.

    Thanks for this list.

  2. April 29, 2008 1:05 pm

    Many thanks for the link love! I have tried Angel Food Ministries before and it’s a pretty good deal. The only problem I have with it is I keep forgetting when the money’s due and missing out on ordering.

  3. onesillyme permalink
    April 30, 2008 9:44 am

    Rats! Angel Food Ministries doesn’t operate in Washington State.

    On another note, I’m a medical social worker and my challenge is always finding food resouces that meet client’s special dietary needs. I currently work with people on dialysis (high protien, but only specific types, low sugar/simple starch, low sodium, low phosphorus, etc, etc.) and people with MS (varying needs). Foods on Food Bank shelves are often not suitable, and even if they are folks with impaired immune systems are understandably leary of expired foods that are often offered…

  4. April 30, 2008 11:17 am

    Onesillyme, I’m guessing that there must be something already in place – let me know if you want me to poke around and see what I can find. You’re absolutely right that the dietary needs/restrictions issue is huge – I don’t envy you in trying to meet that challenge.

  5. April 30, 2008 11:40 am

    And if you like the idea of $4 prescriptions but prefer to patronize a union store, Kroger offers them in its pharmacies.

  6. April 30, 2008 11:42 am

    Ooh, thanks nm – I knew I was forgetting at least one.

  7. April 30, 2008 9:13 pm

    I am a social worker who works with MR population… we do have a Angel Food Ministries in Shippensburg, PA. It is a good program however, the population that i work with the cost is an issue.

    I do like your site… i came across this totally by accident… very informative im always looking for resources. i would like to comment to onesillyme… what is a medical social worker? oh yea always looking for other ways to further myself so i can assist the population that i work with…

    Thank you

    Francine

  8. onesillyme permalink
    April 30, 2008 10:55 pm

    Rachel-
    There are definitely other resources in every community. We have a 211 (like 911 but for social services) system in Washington that has done a good job of centralizing information.

    Francine-
    I work full time in a kidney dialysis center, working with patients on anything from transportation to insurance to brief counseling to medication adherence– whatever it takes to get as much benefit from their care as possible. I also do contract work with the National Multiple Sclerosis Society, as a Care Manager plus supervising a group of peer support volunteers. Another thing medical social workers often do is discharge planning in hospital/institutional settings.

  9. EveryMoment permalink
    May 9, 2008 6:53 pm

    The state of PA does not allow the $8 contraceptives from Target or Walmart……..GRRRRRRR.

Leave a Reply

