Skip to content

AT&T’s Advertising, Or, Too Much Time Writing About Vaginas

April 18, 2008

I giggled last night when I saw a new AT&T wireless ad. It features cell phones arising out of fleshy, expanding (largely pink) flowers. As I watched it, I thought: “Those flowers kind of look like vulvas. I mean, they’re obviously targeting women with the pink and all the flowers, but it’s like these flowers are opening up and giving birth to the phones.”

And then, the ad text.

“Happy Mother’s Day.”

Ah ha ha ha ha ha. Maybe their ad people just discovered Georgia O’Keefe.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. snikta permalink
    April 18, 2008 12:39 pm

    That’s funny. . . What struck me most about the ad was the amazing animation.

  2. April 18, 2008 12:53 pm

    Now you have to watch it again and tell me what those amazing flowers remind you of.🙂

  3. April 19, 2008 1:44 am

    Love Georgia.

    BTW, you’ve been tagged.

    http://theblogthatatemanhattan.blogspot.com/2008/04/6-words-meme.html

  4. snikta permalink
    April 24, 2008 7:45 am

    I saw it again last night. I can see it, but that’s still not what strikes me. I guess it because I don’t write about vaginas all day long.

  5. April 24, 2008 11:09 am

    I think that probably does make a difference.🙂

Leave a Reply

