Skip to content

The Case of the Disappearing Crocheted Vulva Resolved

April 5, 2008

I have a bit of a stomach virus (possibly food poisoning), and I thought we could all use something a little more amusing that the whole POPLINE/abortion debacle. If you’ve been following along, awesome Aunt B of Tiny Cat Pants crocheted a vulva as a gift for me, knowing that I have a special fondness for this type of craft.

Unfortunately, two weeks after she sent it via campus/interoffice mail, it had yet to arrive. We speculated that it had been intercepted, and gave up on its eventual arrival. I vaguely hoped that it was becoming the next Flat Stanley, rather than sitting in one of our boss’s office while they decided how to address this unusual item.

I’m pleased to announce that the crocheted cooter, as B alliteratively calls it, finally arrived – 20 days after it was sent from less than one mile away. B has even posted instructions on how to make your own if you’re so inclined. Mine has already been put to good use for teaching purposes, after someone asked, “So, is that the ‘pee hole?'” No, sweetie, that’s the clitoris – the “pee hole” is down here.

The picture posted below after the break may be NSFW, if your workplace frowns on anatomy and threadcraft. I apologize for the darkness of the photo; using a flash washed out the pink structure too much. Rest assured, what should be there is there.

By the way, thanks to new readers for visiting this week and paying attention to the POPLINE issue; I hope you’ll return.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Liesele permalink
    April 9, 2008 9:18 am

    You did see the Anti-Craft’s “The Snatchel” I hope? http://theanticraft.com/archive/imbolc07/snatchel.htm
    If I missed that you already blogged on this, my apologies!

  2. April 9, 2008 9:21 am

    I hadn’t, thank you!

  3. July 14, 2008 10:51 am

    In googling crochet I found your witty blog. Is the pattern for the vulva available?

  4. July 14, 2008 11:37 am

    Linda, I’ll check!

  5. July 14, 2008 12:00 pm

    Hey, Linda, check out the link in the post– http://tinycatpants.wordpress.com/2008/03/15/make-your-own-crochet-cooter/ –I’m no professional pattern writer-upper, so if you have any questions or if something isn’t clear, let me know.

Trackbacks

  1. Lost Cooter Found « Tiny Cat Pants
  2. News Story Of The Day: Penis Theft « Newscoma

Leave a Reply

