Skip to content

Off Topic: Splenda = Yuck

March 3, 2008

I don’t think I’ve written about this before, but I generally avoid artificial sweeteners such as those in diet soda because they cause me to feel terrible for hours. We’re talking flushing, headache, severe intestinal cramps, a weird, dizzy, out of it feeling, the works. Every once in a while, I miss that I’ve been given a diet soda because I’ve eaten something spicy and don’t taste it right away, or the ingredient isn’t prominent on the label. And yes, it happens without my having read anything “scary” about aspartame on the internet, and yes, it happens every time, as it happens to my mom and all of her sisters (which I only found out after the fact).

Until today, I hadn’t tried anything with Splenda (sucralose), because I generally just avoid anything with a sugar substitute. I didn’t mean to try it, actually – the workplace was handing out “heart healthy” snacks, and I grabbed a bottle of water and took a few fast gulps before realizing that what I actually had was lemon-flavored water with Splenda. Holy cursewords, that was nasty. Isn’t this the stuff they advertised as tasting like sugar? It tasted like chemical warfare in my mouth for two hours, or, just like the other fake sweeteners. The only upside was that it didn’t wreck my digestive system.

I don’t know how you people can stand the taste of this stuff. I’d rather drink nothing but plain water forever than have that taste in my mouth.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2008 8:10 pm

    People are nuts for Splenda. When I was earning a little side money at a cafe last fall, we had to hide our Splenda packets behind the counter because people would run off with them by the handful. (In, by the way, a fancypants neighborhood where customers could very well afford to keep their own dang Splenda at home.)

    I think it’s gross too. The only thing worse than fake sugar in your beverage is fake dairy.

  2. March 3, 2008 8:36 pm

    Remind me to never give you any of my sweet tea.😉

  3. March 3, 2008 8:49 pm

    I have to laugh at this post because Splenda has recently been the topic of conversation around here…my brother claims that the process in which Splenda is made produces chlorine. Apparently (according to my brother) two Splendas in your coffee or other drink is equivilent to drinking a glass of pool water. Hmmm…. the only thing that makes me think twice about this as possibly being true is that it took over 20 years for Splenda to be FDA approved. Why would it take so long to get such an item on the market?

    BTW, I don’t mind Splenda added to my iced coffee, but the flavored waters,etc are gross…

  4. March 3, 2008 8:50 pm

    Good going, Rachel… Take a look at this…

    http://myaspartameexperiment.com

    Thanks and keep up the good work.

    Cg

  5. steersbylitning permalink
    March 4, 2008 8:51 am

    I have always thought artificial sweeteners tasted nasty and were bad for you. I avoid them whenever possible. Glad to see someone else feels the same way.

  6. March 4, 2008 8:58 am

    Labor Nurse, some years ago I heard from certain sources that part of it was the filing with the FDA of challenges/questions by existing competitors as a delay tactic. I don’t have the whole story, just a little rumor for the mill.🙂

  7. onesillyme permalink
    March 4, 2008 10:39 am

    Years ago, while advising me to lose weight, my doctor told me to avoid artificial sweeteners. No problem, they all taste…artificial. Aside from the potential health effects of regularly ingesting yet another substance not found in nature, it’s been shown that people who use artificial sweeteners consume more REAL SUGAR. Crank up that sweet tooth and it just wants more!

Trackbacks

  1. Why New York’s Governor Is on My Naughty List « Women’s Health News

Leave a Reply

