Skip to content

“Happy VD!”

February 14, 2008

I received an email yesterday with the above subject, and as evidence that I’ve been reading about sexually transmitted infections recently, my first thought was, “happy venereal disease?”🙂

As usual, there are V-Day events, especially performances of The Vagina Monologues, happening all over to raise funds to fight violence against women – find one here.

Over at Feministing, they’re also talking about V-Day, including a Vagina Monologues ad the Seattle Times refused to print for its stylized vulva-ness. They also note the V-Day 10th anniversary site’s use of a “vulva emoticon,” ({}) – debate ensues in the comments as to whether this is the best possible version. Other, more complete suggestions included ({^}) and ({¡}) – take your pick.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2008 8:50 am

    Oh my word. Some people just have way too much time on their hands!

    FWIW…I’m not a librarian but when I see Happy VD, I also tend to think venereal disease, not Valentines Day!

  2. February 14, 2008 9:00 am

    Malia, I just can’t figure out when one would ever need a vulva “emoticon.” As far as I know, “vulva” is not an emotion.😉 (yes, I’m feeling a little silly this morning)

Leave a Reply

