Skip to content

Quality of Breast Cancer Information on the Web?

February 13, 2008

In a new post at Our Bodies Our Blog, I address the recent study of the quality of websites providing breast cancer information. I don’t agree with all of the assumptions the authors worked from in assessing “technical quality” of sites*, but their findings are worth a look. I also think they should have called out the websites that provided inaccurate breast cancer information and explained what the common inaccuracies were, and why .edu sites fared so poorly compared to .com, .gov, and other sites.

Head on over, and leave us a comment or two, wontcha?

*I hesitate to explain further because it’s kind of a librarian/wonky thing, as are my criticisms of the authors’ stats as presented (I’d like confidence intervals for those odds ratios, blah, blah), but if you’re interested, I will.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

