Skip to content

On the NIH’s New Vulvodynia Awareness Campaign

October 30, 2007

I have a new post up at OBOS, on the National Institutes of Health’s recently announced vulvodynia awareness campaign. Head on over for details, a critique, and useful vulvodynia resources online.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2007 9:15 pm

    Rachel,

    I was perusing through technorati and found to my astonishment stories on Vulvodynia. I have run vulvodyniasupport.com since 1999 when there was my site and two others and no one was “talking”. I have not suffered from my disease for many years, although I do not believe in the word cure. Subsequently I don’t do much googling to see what is new. It was delightful to see that Vulvodynia is finally getting the attention it deserves. While I am not a scientist and cannot speak the jargon, I do recognize and appeciatate those of you who are are finally studying and researching this very misunderstood disease. I cannot fully express how grateful I am to learn this is happening through your blog.

    I have received far too many emails from desperate women worldwide. All too often they are pointed in the direction of surgery which has always angered me. While again pointing out that I am not a scientist, it only seems like extreme common sense that if you do not know the known cause you cannot with any authority say that you know what needs to be cut or that it would work. And at this time, to me, it seem analogous to suggesting that a person with MS cut off their limbs.

    In my healing process I found holistic healing and found my way out of my pain cycle. My process of healing profoundly changed my life and two year agao I became a Reiki Practitioner. I have always found that there is more to the mind body connection that can help heal so many diseases than anything allopathic methods can offer. However even with that said, there is a strong need and place for the proper scientific research and I applaud you and the NIH for finally taking care of my community.

    With loving light, Lauren Kunis, Certified Reiki Master/Teacher, DONA Trained Doula

  2. November 20, 2007 10:50 am

    Lauren,
    Thank you very much for your comment.

Leave a Reply

