Skip to content

Does a Tattoo Mean You Can’t Get an Epidural?

September 24, 2007

I’m still on vacation for a couple more days, but there is a new post up at Our Bodies Our Blog on the lower back tattoo vs. epidural during childbirth question. Ask me how I think the discussion relates to punishing women.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2007 6:47 pm

    Wow. I can’t wait to read your thoughts.

    That is just unbelievable. I don’t get it.

  2. September 24, 2007 8:30 pm

    I worked as a doula for 15 years. I had many clients who had lower back tattoos. It was never a question about whether it was safe to get an epidural, if needed. I have never heard of this concern. I think you are right Rachel, just one more thing to keep women freaked out! When will it end? Wouldn’t it be great for someone to do an article on trusting your body or supporting the many options of childbirth? I wonder though…would women read it?

    Hey…I thought you were on vacation.

    Cyndi

    http://www.mybirthteam.com

  3. September 25, 2007 5:50 pm

    I have never seen a woman get turned down for an epidural because she had a lower back tattoo. I have had an anethesiologist say that they may end up with a tiny scar that is likely not to be noticable.

  4. September 26, 2007 4:36 pm

    Thanks, ladies. There’s a newer post here now with some of the info I couldn’t fit in the OBOS post.

  5. Kerri permalink
    February 29, 2008 2:34 pm

    I was told by my doctor that these days if you have a tattoo on your lower back and it is less then 3 years old you cant get an epidural, im pregnant and was told in labor i wont be able to get one!

  6. February 29, 2008 2:58 pm

    Kerri, please see my response to your comment in the other thread, and thanks for commenting!

  7. Liza permalink
    February 8, 2012 10:44 am

    A friend of mine is a very good anastegiologist, she says that she would never in her life give a girl with a tattoo epideral and that no decent doctor ever would. Freaky

    • February 9, 2012 8:34 am

      It doesn’t sound like your friend the anesthesiologist is up on the evidence on this topic.

Trackbacks

  1. More on Tattoos and Epidurals « Women’s Health News

Leave a Reply

