Skip to content

Miscarriage Not a Crime After All

September 6, 2007

Last week, a fetus was found at a West Virginia sewage pump station, and local police completely lost it, getting an autopsy, soliciting tips from the public and calling hospitals in the investigation of a possible “crime,” which just about everybody reading the story agreed was probably some poor woman having had a miscarriage at home. In an update to this story, the medical examiner has concluded that the tiny fetus did indeed die of “natural causes,” the event has been *officially* deemed a miscarriage, and “After discussing the medical examiner’s findings with the prosecutor’s office, officials decided no crime had been committed.”

Well good. I’m so relieved that if I ever suffer a personal tragic event in the privacy of my own home, I’ll only be *suspected* of committing a crime, but I won’t actually be a criminal. Really, sooo relieved. Oh, and West Virginia police officers? I have a book I’m willing to let you borrow.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Naomi permalink
    September 6, 2007 9:09 pm

    ok, not only should women be allowed to miscarry at home, but isn’t abortion legal? I mean, whether or not I agree with it, why would it be considered a crime to cause an abortion at home if it is legal to do so in the hospital?

  2. September 6, 2007 9:30 pm

    Naomi, exactly. It was never clear in this case what crime they would be looking for in the first place, much less that would warrant trying so hard to track down the woman.

  3. conniebonnie permalink
    September 7, 2007 10:39 am

    Do you happen to know what came of the women who they found a bunch of aborted/ possibly aborted fetus and dead children in her home? i cannot remember enough of the details to search it out myself, but was wondering what the outcome was.

  4. September 7, 2007 11:06 am

    I wonder how much in public funds was spent chasing this phantom, and why it wasn’t put to better use by, say, setting it on fire.

  5. September 7, 2007 1:09 pm

    cb, I know what you’re talking about but can’t seem to dig it up just now. Will look and get back to you.
    Kat, that would be interesting to know. I’m sure they could have been investigating actual homicides and other crimes instead.

  6. September 9, 2007 4:24 pm

    Thank you for the update. I was most curious to see how it turned out.

    I wonder how many people reading this story realize that the local police…getting an autopsy, soliciting tips from the public and calling hospitals in the investigation of a possible “crime” is but a [limited] preview of what authorities will be doing once abortion is outlawed.

    I don’t have any hard data but it’s my impression that, when it comes to the government regulating abortion, most people’s thought process goes something like this:

    1. Ban abortion.

    2. ???

    3. No more abortions.

    Very few realize what’s actually involved in having government agents monitor their reproductive status.

  7. September 9, 2007 7:47 pm

    Ema, that’s precisely the thing about this story that frightens me, and I hope the fact that this happened makes people realize what a thin line we walk.

Leave a Reply

