Skip to content

A Genetic Picture of Me – 23 and Me Testing

April 7, 2013

I recently did 23 and Me genetic testing, which provides a ton of info on genetically linked health issues and traits, as well as genetic ancestry data. I’ll probably post something on the health data at some point, but I thought it would be fun to share the ancestry portion of my results. I was curious as to how they’d come out genetically, given that I’m what many people would call “1/4″ Korean.

Reminder: I’m allowed to call myself a mutt. Other people, not so much. Jokes about my ancestors getting around, historically speaking, are fair game. ;) Click to embiggen. Set on Standard composition.

this graph shows my ancestry composition from genetic testing

Did East Asian have to be color-coded yellow? For real?

This image shows information on my maternal haplogroup, or ancestry derived from mitochondrial DNA. The A4 designation reflects the fact that my mother’s mother was ethnically Korean. Explanation provided in the image. Again, click for a larger, more readable size.
show maternal haplogroup details

Finally, my percentage of DNA that is considered Neanderthal in origin. Jokes about my hard-headedness will be appropriate here:
shows my % neanderthal dna as 3.1%, 94th percentile

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2013 5:10 pm

    I’ve heard of 23 and Me genetic testing and wanted to get more details. Thanks a lot for this great post. It’s awesome how you can track every possible and probable ailment. The only thing that makes you think for a while is the cost involved. Is it an expensive procedure?

  2. April 18, 2013 12:34 am

    Intriguing post! How much did the 23andme test cost you? Why did you choose this particular test over the many other test available online? I’m of mixed heritage as well and very curious to have my ancestry tested too.

    I read that all current indigenous populations outside Africa (e.g. Asian and European) have some Neanderthal DNA so that’s quite consistent with the facts it seems

    • April 18, 2013 7:22 am

      Thanks for your comment! It is a bit pricey, $99. This one has both ancestry and health information, though, which is nice, and is half the price of the National Geographic ancestry one, although that one looks interesting too. I work at at medical library, and we had several people doing 23andMe. One nice feature (which other options may have, I’m not sure) is the ability to share info with other users and compare your DNA if you choose as well.

      • April 18, 2013 1:19 pm

        Sounds like a really good deal with all the additional info and features. I was looking at the National Geographic one as it seemed very popular, and had never heard about 23andMe until I read your post. I’ll definitely check it out! Thanks!

      • April 18, 2013 1:20 pm

        If you do decide to do National Geographic, I’d love to hear back about it!

  3. May 15, 2013 12:28 am

    Really interesting Rachel. Thank you. Had to chuckle at your reference to the color used for [east] Asia. I like the way the results are presented. Very comprehensive indeed.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,103 other followers

