Skip to content

Friday Reader Question Forum – #2

January 21, 2010

Okay, I’ve only done one of these, and it was more than a year ago, so I guess we’re long overdue. This weird question comes from me:

“When you’re wearing headphones or ear buds, do you ever feel fluid or ear wax or something moving around in your ears?”

I seriously think I can feel something move sometimes when I’m listening to music on headphones. And I don’t think I have unusually waxy or stuffed up ears. Am I alone?

If you have a “does anybody else…?” question or issue you’d like to pose to the readers, pass it along via the Contact form and I might post it for feedback one Friday.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2010 7:21 pm

    What you’re probably hearing is the fluid in the cochlea or other fluids in the head that are amplified when you block the ear canals.

    • January 21, 2010 7:43 pm

      I don’t exactly hear it though, it’s more that I feel it.

  2. January 22, 2010 7:21 am

    I don’t have that problem with earbuds, but it sounds very similar to what happens when I hear a sudden very loud noise close to my ear. It’s like feeling a lot of liquid shifting around inside my skull.

    • January 22, 2010 8:09 am

      Maybe I’m just listening to music way too loud! ;)

  3. defenestrated permalink
    January 24, 2010 5:47 pm

    I don’t remember ever feeling that, exactly, but I have noticed that when I’ve been listening to my earbuds a lot (especially loudly), my ears get really waxy. Like the music is some sort of pied piper for the wax…ok, now I’m just being gross *and* weird :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,102 other followers

