Skip to content

Global Health e-Learning Center Provides Online Public Health Education

August 15, 2009
tags:

The Global Health e-Learning Center “developed by the USAID Bureau of Global Health is a response to repeated requests from field staff for access to technical public health information.” Although intended for these public health workers, the e-Learning Center is freely accessible online for anyone who completes a short registration process. Registered users can then work through a number (currently 31) of online courses in a self-directed manner – each includes an estimate of the time needed for completion, course objectives, quizzes for self-assessment of knowledge, final exams, and certificates for successful completion.

Available courses cover a number of women’s health-related topics such as family planning 101 and family planning counseling, hormonal methods of contraception, IUDs, mother-to-child transmission of HIV, postpartum care and family planning, female genital mutilation/cutting, as well as other global health issues, such as immunizations and various diarrheal and infectious diseases. I’ve started on the Family Planning 101 course, and have thus far found the content informative and challenging.

[Hat tip to Tyler LePard]

Added: please contact USAID directly with questions – I am not affiliated with/in charge of the resource, am just sharing the link so people know about it – http://www.usaid.gov/contact.html

24 Comments
  1. Elvis Mthyoka permalink
    December 22, 2009 11:24 pm

    I am a malawian. I am interested to be studying grobal public health. Would you mind to register my name as one of students?

    • December 23, 2009 8:14 am

      Hi, it’s a self-study online program, so you will need to go directly to the site and register a free account for yourself- you just need an email address.

  2. sadia permalink
    March 17, 2010 4:44 am

    I’m somalian.Am interesting to be part of studying global puplic health.I would like you to accept my request towards learning of puplic health,i think you will accept me

  3. May 4, 2010 1:38 am

    am Somalian who would like to join studying global puplic health.i appreciate if you could accept my request

    • May 4, 2010 8:49 am

      Please go directly to the site linked above to register for and access the study materials.

  4. May 21, 2010 12:02 am

    Hello rachel… i’m clicking the link above and its not working… is the site down? i live in east asia if that matters… thanks

  5. Bashir Ali Ismail permalink
    June 6, 2010 1:59 pm

    My name is Bashir Ali Ismail. I
    am Somali.
    i would like to joint the puplic health course, so, i will appriciate to you if you accept my request.
    i am waiting you as soon as possible

  6. ABRHAM GETACHEW permalink
    June 14, 2010 11:52 am

    Hi i am an Ethiopian i need to study monitoring and evaluation

  7. KUKUNDAKWE. JUDITH permalink
    June 23, 2010 8:43 am

    hey,
    i’m kukundakwe judith from uganda, i would like to join the global public health hope you consider my request. thanks

  8. Rabindra Dhital permalink
    June 23, 2010 1:22 pm

    How can be these certificates of global health e learning be useful? I have got one and interested in few more courses.

  9. June 23, 2010 5:45 pm

    All – please contact USAID directly with questions – I am not affiliated with/in charge of the resource, am just sharing the link so people know about it.

    http://www.usaid.gov/contact.html

  10. August 27, 2010 1:35 pm

    I appriciate to take part this course

  11. August 27, 2010 1:37 pm

    This course is verry essential for all the coommunity

  12. Josephine B. Bhebhe permalink
    November 2, 2010 9:05 am

    I am interested in studying with Global Health elearning .
    Kindly accept my request

  13. Festus Mebele permalink
    November 10, 2010 3:37 am

    I am a Nigerian and I am interseted in studing with Global Health eleraning. Can i use the certificate obtained in pursuit of further education. Kindly accept my request and reply me.

  14. OKWAKOL YOWAS permalink
    December 10, 2010 7:14 am

    I am a ugandan.This course is verry essential for all the coommunity accept Kindly please accept my request

  15. December 10, 2010 3:26 pm

    please contact USAID directly with questions – I am not affiliated with/in charge of the resource, am just sharing the link so people know about it – http://www.usaid.gov/contact.html

  16. Carla permalink
    December 23, 2010 1:54 am

    I think that the most inquiries are about the USAID global e-learning website located at http://www.globalhealthlearning.org. This website has many learning modules dedicated to helping any individual learn more about the most important topics in global/maternal/neonatal health and many more topics which are of interest to those living and working in developing countries and global health. You need an email address to get a free account and begin studying different topics. Good luck to all of you.

  17. December 26, 2010 9:26 am

    Iam public health officer . i am from Sudan I want to joint online public health course
    thank you
    ahmed

    • February 25, 2011 4:28 am

      Hi,
      I am a program manager in HIV/AIDS progrm working in Athi River Kenya, I am interestedn in Global Health Learning, please accept my request.

  18. ssegujja permalink
    February 25, 2011 1:15 pm

    this is a nice site,am in uganda and atudent of lab technology. how useful are these certificate coursese madam reachal.?can one get ajob? have 3 so far

  19. eluke francis blessing permalink
    February 26, 2011 2:33 pm

    am nigerian,what to be part of global health e learning.wish to get certificate at the end.

  20. February 27, 2011 9:46 am

    All, please note that I have nothing to do with the program, am just sharing the link. Please follow the link in the post and contact them directly, as I am unable to answer your questions.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,100 other followers

