Skip to content

Scenes from a Mom

July 22, 2009
tags:

So, I was talking on the phone to my mom (who lives about 4 hours away) last night, after neglecting to call for about two weeks and so was getting a bit of a guilt trip about that. What follows is a rough approximation of a transcription:

Mom: I used to call my mom every day.
Me: What?!? That’s crazy talk. You were in the same town. Why would you do that?
Mom: Well, she was by herself.
Me: I don’t even have anything to talk about that often. If I call you every day, you’re going to get, “I woke up, I wiped my butt…”
Mom: I don’t need to hear that. That’s what your blog is for.

I don’t know whether to laugh because my mom – who still does not have regular internet access and so does not read my blog on and kind of regular basis – has managed to acquire a pretty common stereotype of blog content, or to laugh at myself because Mom, My Blog is So Much More Serious Than That, Gosh! ;)

[Edited to Add: It occurs to me now that if I'd been thinking quickly enough, I would have said, "No, mom, that's what Twitter is for."]

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2009 3:39 pm

    This was hilarious. Thank you for sharing it!

  2. July 23, 2009 9:10 pm

    I love it. I used to have similar conversations with my mom – now I have them with my adult children!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,101 other followers

