Skip to content

Good Clean Love – In Which I Win a Product Giveaway, and Hilarity Ensues

June 14, 2009

DSCF0736Ages ago, I entered an Earth Day-themed giveaway contest at Blissfully Domestic – the prize was a Good Clean Love gift set. Well, I won one of the sets, and having commented that I’m a sucker for lavender-scented products, my gift set included the Lavender Rose Organic Personal Lubricant.

You see, Good Clean Love makes “personal intimacy” products – i.e., lubes, “love oils,” “pleasure butters,” and the like. It’s also a woman-owned business whose slogan, “Making Love Sustainable,” alerts us that the company strives to use cruelty-free, largely vegan, organic ingredients (not sure what the standards are on non-food, though), no petrochemicals, no parabens, and the like. Green America (formerly Co-Op America) has an interview with Good Clean Love founder Wendy Strgar about her particular type of green business. Strgar also has a related blog.

That’s all well and good. I like to see companies making efforts toward being hopefully safer and more earth-friendly. I was notified that I won, submitted my mailing address, and waited to receive the gift set package.

A weekend or two later the spouse and I are sitting around entertaining my parents – who have *just* arrived from out of town to visit – and there’s a knock at the door. The spouse goes to the door, and comes back sheepishly holding a box at arms length with this funny look on his face. “Uh, honey…” The company name/logo is on the box as part of the return address. Ha! (Oh! And I hadn’t remembered to tell the spouse to expect such a package!)

I see the return address and promptly turn beet red. I’m usually not embarrassed by this sort of thing, but it was kind of unexpected. Of *course* my parents are here when it comes. Of *course* the mail carrier lady was smirking at the spouse. Of *course* my parents want to know what all the fuss is about, and why I’m cackling over the just-arrived box o’ goodies while the spouse looks at me completely befuddled.

So then I have to explain the whole thing to everybody, the blog contest, and that I entered, and here is my prize. To which my mom responds, “Well, open it and show us what you got!”

OMG. Did I mention that my parents are kind of young and kind of cool – and that such things are best appreciated by people who are not their daughter opening a box of lube and “love oils?” LOL.

Anyway, I really didn’t mind the labeled box, but the timing of its arrival was just. too. perfect. And hilarious.

For the curious, the package included this Love Oils Gift Sampler and the Lavender Rose Personal Lubricant. The products really do smell lovely. And, um, I think you can have your order shipped sans revealing label.

PS-When the in-laws read this and die of embarrassment because their daughter-in-law is writing about lube on the internet, I think I can make a good case for blaming it on how I was raised. ;)

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Malia permalink
    June 14, 2009 3:12 pm

    LOL!! That’s a good story. I’m glad your parents are so cool. And I hope your products have come in handy! ;)

  2. MomTFH permalink
    June 14, 2009 3:25 pm

    LOL! Enjoy!

  3. June 14, 2009 6:38 pm

    Ha. I would have died of embarrassment!

  4. June 14, 2009 8:04 pm

    Adorable story…glad you have some relief from the serious stuff. Could be a reward for your good work?

  5. June 14, 2009 11:00 pm

    that is too much!

  6. June 15, 2009 7:16 am

    Thanks for reading, you all. I will definitely be chuckling about this for a while. I entered the contest on a whim, didn’t expect to win or to have such amusement out of it!

  7. Lorrie Lewis permalink
    June 15, 2009 8:54 am

    I was just wondering if your parents wanted a sample for themselves. LOL Don’t worry Rachel, they know you do that sort of thing. They are super cool and will be like twenty year olds for the rest of their lives.

    • June 15, 2009 10:52 am

      You’re right, and I think they’d be more worried if they thought I wasn’t having enough fun! :)

  8. June 16, 2009 11:44 am

    So are we going to be seeing a product review anytime soon?

    • June 16, 2009 3:34 pm

      Given that some of my colleagues, fellow librarians, and family members read here, I thought I might just leave it at “they smell pretty.” :)

  9. June 16, 2009 4:34 pm

    Hi Rachel, I enjoyed reading your post and I’m glad that you were able to see the humor in the situation! We don’t send our products anonymously unless requested as we strongly believe in our message – clean, healthy love! – but I do want to say I’m sorry if it caused you any inconvenience due to the “timing” :).

    My best,

    Wendy

    • June 16, 2009 6:13 pm

      Wendy, no inconvenience at all – it makes for a good story! Thanks for clarifying (and for commenting), and best of luck with the business!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,102 other followers

