Skip to content

Blog for Choice Day 2009

January 22, 2009

bfcday20091For Blog for Choice Day this year, we are given the theme: “What is your top pro-choice hope for President Obama and/or the new Congress?”

Good grief, as though I could pick just one.

It’s no surprise to regular readers that I’d like to see the recently enacted “conscience” rule wiped out, for these ten reasons and a few more. That’s one specific issue that clearly relates directly to choice. I’d like to see the Global Gag Rule repealed, and restore funding for UNFPA. I’d like for our laws to allow women to exercise their choice without being subjected to misinformation under biased counseling laws or forced ultrasounds that assume women just haven’t worried their pretty little heads enough about what they’re doing. I’d like to see our discussions of these issues be evidence-based, science-based, instead of agenda-based.

So many other things, though, have an effect on women and the choices they make. I’d like to move away from abstinence-only sex education, so that individuals will be better informed about how to control their own reproduction. I’d like to make pharmacies put up signs indicating whether they will or won’t fill prescriptions for birth control, or dispense emergency contraception. I’d like WIC to include more than a suggestion of fresh fruits and vegetables. I’d like for all people to be able to afford healthcare, including contraception. I’d like our approach to “the war on drugs” to be overhauled so more people can be with their families instead of in jail. I’d like for us not to assume we know who “deserves” to have children, to recognize that choice is an issue of being able to have children, too, of reproductive justice that isn’t just about abortion. I’d like people to make a living wage. I’d like women to be able to talk about abortion without fear or shame, given how common an experience it is across the nation.

But you know, I think that’s all an awfully tall order a handful of days into a Presidency.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. MomTFH permalink
    January 22, 2009 9:57 pm

    Great post!

    All of that rings so true with me. Especially the part about being able to speak about abortion without shame. I sent a copy of my first blog day for choice post (before I realized that there was a theme and did a re-do, whoops!) to my medical school class. I had one first year write back and say she was offended, and that my email was “over the top.” Huh? I understand disagreeing, but offended? Sheesh. I am so sick of extremists thinking that they get to totally control the dialogue on abortion. I wrote to her privately and said that I find certain medical practices unethical, such as circumcision, but I would not try to censor conversation on the topic.

    Then she sent out a link to the National Right to Life site in response. After accusing my Guttmacher link of not being accurate research. Riiight.

  2. January 23, 2009 4:52 pm

    At least the global gag rule is gone, as of today.

Trackbacks

  1. The Good the Bad and the Ugly From the First Week of a New Leadership « The Crone Speaks
  2. UNFPA Funding Restored « Women’s Health News
  3. Blog for Choice Day 2010 Coming Up This Friday « Women’s Health News

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,102 other followers

