Skip to content

How Do You *Not* Know You’re Pregnant?

March 23, 2008

The Iowa Hawk Eye recently published an article on an Army National Guard private who returned from Iraq on a two-week leave intending to propose to his girlfriend, only to be surprised when she gave birth to his son. Apparently she was surprised, too:

Malmberg first started noticing stomach pains last Saturday night when she was with Novak [her solider boyfriend], who was visiting his brother in Burlington. She went to bed early that night, hoping some rest would relieve her situation. “I just thought it was menstruation cramps. I was hoping they would go away,” she said. Other than an extra 20 pounds, Malmberg’s body gave no indication of her pregnancy. Her menstruation cycles continued at an irregular pace, which Malmberg attributed to physical exertion from all the time she spends playing competitive soccer.

Seriously? If I thought I wasn’t menstruating regularly because I was exercising so hard/much, I’d be suspicious about gaining 20 pounds at the same time. I’m always baffled by these stories, and usually chalk it up to denial in young women – Malmberg is 18. She did accept her boyfriend’s proposal – unfortunately has to return to Iraq to spend 3 more months looking for roadside bombs.

78 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2008 7:30 pm

    One friend of mine and the mother of another friend of mine both had surprise births like this. They were both 16 at the time… but still!
    In both cases the babies turned out pretty healthy despite the late of prenatal care… so I wish them the best of luck.

  2. March 23, 2008 7:31 pm

    Tanglethis, I’m just sorry the father has to return to Iraq so soon, but it sounds like the baby was fine. Maybe young women are just more resilient. :)

  3. March 24, 2008 9:45 am

    I have always wondered about that too. They must think the kicks are indigestion.

  4. March 24, 2008 9:46 am

    You hear many of these stories and like you I find it hard to take in, maybe because we actually had the morning sickness, heartburn, backache and the tiredness which comes with humping your bump around and they did not. How can these women be so lucky.

  5. naomidagenbloom permalink
    March 24, 2008 12:15 pm

    rachel, found this story (read the article) both strange and depressing. chalk it up to what–denial, abstinence-only education, fear of condoms?

    -naomi

  6. March 24, 2008 1:21 pm

    I caught this on Jezebel: Woman, 57, finds lump is baby not cancer.
    There goes our generalizations about the young! ; )

  7. March 24, 2008 11:01 pm

    I think a lot of women are just very unaware of their bodies nad what is normal for them. I knew within two weeks both times I was pregnant, because I had very different reactions to what I ate. The first time it was eating Thai food and going to the bathroom and throwing up because I couldn’t handle the spiciness. That was so weird for me I knew I had to be pregnant. The second time I was trying to get pregnant so knew the week I was supposed to get my period and didn’t.

    Lack of awareness or knowing what is normal for you is typically the reason these women don’t realize they are pregnant.

    • holly permalink
      December 16, 2009 1:40 am

      Im very aware of my body,however,im feeling things that could be somthing else…I have a period,although irregular,its there.I test negative on the last test,althouh it was 3 months ago when i was late 8 days for the first time…..It was a waste of money to buy it,and i don’t want to buy another,because its always negative! No i dont want kids,im 21 and happy without them.However im having heartburn,acid reflux,tums have been my best friend lately,lower back pains out of NOWHERE….I want to puke when i smell ciggs and im a smoker,i havnt noticed any changes in what i eat,but i have been hungry alot! My head hurts constantly,i have dreams my teeth fall out,and my bf swears she had those dreams when she was pregnant,lack of calcium,its weird…But in my heart,i feel im not,i have periods.Im a skeptic that you can really have a period,not spotting,but real heavy bleeding,and be pregnant!I know my mom came up negative with my brother and had a blood test,but she was to earl in the game to really know on a test….Im so confussed,so i look for things like this,and really never find a true answer..sigh….

    • amanda permalink
      May 11, 2010 4:13 pm

      i know exactly how you feel holly. ive been on birth control for maybe a year to regulate my period. its been working out great till about three months ago. im suppose to have a four day period but over the past three months its like it got shorter and lighter. so the second month it seemed off i took two pregnancy tests but they were negative? no too mention ive gained 5-10 pounds. so i dont know if im crazy or if i should waste money on more tests. its a weird place to be

    • riona permalink
      June 4, 2010 1:40 pm

      holly!! your like my twin!! im going throught the exact same thing!! i ve done tests that have come up negative ..and im getting periods but missed 8weeks and since theyve been three days instead of 5 its a nightmare.. im moody bloated emotional i feel wierd movement in my belly my nipples hurt … and my head hurts all the time!!! whats going on!! i know i TECHNICALLY shouldnt be pregnant but i dunno!!

  8. March 25, 2008 9:40 am

    Like all of you who already posted, I too am fascinated with this question of “how could they not know?” and I too think it is some very strong form of denial. Is there any research study out there examining whether/why a certain % of women experience pregnancy symptom-free?

    • Tiffany permalink
      February 19, 2011 4:14 pm

      Most of the time it has nothing to do with denial. When a woman has a negative test, still getting her period and not gaining any weight why would she think she was pregnant?

    • July 6, 2011 1:55 am

      Hi Tiffany, i worry. Am i paranoid? We had unprotected, but he did not discharge into me. But i was so worried and 2 weeks later my mensus came. But i have some white discharge these 2 days and i am so worried. Please help me, anyone.

  9. March 25, 2008 7:15 pm

    I knew someone who knew someone who this happened to. She was heavy anyway so she didn’t notice any weight gain. And her periods had always been irregular and it wasn’t unusual for her to go a few months at a time without a period.

    • May 19, 2009 11:03 am

      If she was sexually active and having weird periods than she should of went to the doctor to see if any thing was going on especially with any pains or any thing that is not normal>>!!

  10. anonymous permalink
    October 28, 2008 4:08 pm

    I had a surprise birth myself. I was 17 when I had my baby girl. I had nausea but didn’t think anything of it as I also got nauseous when it was time for my period. Also, another reason I didn’t think I was pregnant was because I kept getting my period or what seemed like my period the whole nine months. I only gained 15 pounds the whole time. When I went to have my golf physical at 5 months they did blood work and tested to see if I was pregnant as it is procedure in all girls of my county and it was negative and 5 urine tests came back negative. So don’t go jumping to conclusions just cause a mother doesn’t know she is pregnant

    • miste permalink
      July 25, 2011 1:34 pm

      oh my god that just trips me out!! did you ask the doctor what may cause this?

  11. anonymous permalink
    November 2, 2008 10:37 pm

    This is possible to not know your pregnant. ive had a friend who didnt know she was until she went to emergency for strong abdominal pain and then they sent her straight to the labour and delivery. what it is, is when the placenta is attached to the back wall (posterior) of the uterus, which most often and normally it is, but sometimes is attaches to the front wall (anterior), which is called an anterior placenta, this would be the reason for the woman to not feel any baby movements because the placenta is acting as a coushion, making the kicks seem more dull and mistaken for abdominal gas. Also another reason is irregular menstration and weight. If the woman is overweight, her menstration will be irregular than someone who is healthy and exercise, some women are irregular anyways due to health and diet, and the tests coming back negative means that the test didnt pick up on the pregnancy hormone that you get the second you conceive. Not all pregnancy test are accurate, the only thing i believe to be accurate is an ultrasound, and the doctor is not going to give you one just for no reason at all. :)

  12. Susanna permalink
    November 3, 2008 5:25 am

    Tanglethis, I know a woman who found out she was pregnant, figured out who the father had to be, adjusted herself to the situation… And then they told her, no, it’s not a fetus after all, it’s cancer.

    She survived the cancer, although the tumor was pretty big. But what an emotional upheaval.

  13. Marc permalink
    December 4, 2008 6:06 pm

    Just found out today that I am 16 weeks. I have a 10 month old that I breastfed for the first 6 months. I went on the pill when I lost my milk. I hadn’t completely lost my belly from the last pregnancy and I thought the lack of a period was from breastfeeding. Now, I’m worried about my light drinking and taking birth control for 3 months of my pregnancy. Doctors don’t seem to worried.

  14. December 15, 2008 12:53 pm

    O my god … Anyway i wish good luck to the baby.

  15. Liesl permalink
    January 4, 2009 12:18 am

    I am not sure if I am, I have nausia, but nothing else, period came at thge right time and I haven’t been eating like a normal person for some time now so I woulnd’t even know if food is an issue or not but now I’m all freaked out because one could be pregenant and never know. How can a sexually active girl live like this! thinking that the sure fire way to tell if one is not pregenant (period) is not good enough!!! Should we take a pregnancy test once a month to be sure???

  16. Susanna permalink
    January 4, 2009 2:29 am

    Marc, don’t worry about the light drinking, if it really was really light.

    The truth is that although heavy drinking can and will hurt the fetus, a little will not. We are talking very little here.

    The reason why they don’t recommend you drink at all during pregnancy is that it’s impossible to define the exact maximum amount of alcohon that is still safe. Obviously, that would require lots of Nazi-type human testing.

    Also, they are afraid that as people tend to belittle the amounts of alcohol they consume, many women would interpret this as a green light to drink all they wished. I’m a little concerned some readers of this blog will now interpret what I’ve said that way.

    The easiest principle to follow is to give up alcohol altogether during pregnancy, just to be on the safe side. Then you won’t need to second-guess yourself.

  17. February 11, 2009 5:31 pm

    Hello!! I am working with Mike Mathis Productions on a televisin show called ” I didnt know i was pregnant”. We would love to feature some of your personal or friends/family stories on our show. Please call us at 626-535-0868

    Jen

  18. February 11, 2009 5:33 pm

    Hello!! I am working with Mike Mathis Productions on a televisin show called ” I didnt know i was pregnant”. We would love to feature some of your personal or friends/family stories on our show. Please call us at 626-535-0868

    Jen

  19. kay permalink
    February 17, 2009 12:42 am

    i just found out i am 18 weeks pregnant. i have had 2 boys already with very obvious symptoms but after my 2nd baby (now 7 months) i decided to have an iud put in since i am allergic to ALL hormonal birth control. i had a little spotting right after and then nothing since then. ive had the iud checked by my dr a couple times and it stayed where it was supposed to. she said no regular period was fine and i didnt think anything of it til 2 weeks ago i swore i felt a movement like a baby kicking. in the last 2 weeks a whole bunch of symptoms and 2 pos pregnancy tests and sure enough…18 weeks! since my last baby is only a few months i didnt lose all my preg weight yet and so nothing has been noticable. ive asked the same question “how can you not know?” i guess its really possible.

    • Lori permalink
      October 13, 2009 1:17 am

      omg kay, i’m quite worried about being in this situation myself. i’m on myrena and everything appears normal…but every so often i could swear i feel movement like i did when my son [6 months] was in utero. i’m scared i could be pregnant again…considering i am no longer with the father and things are troubled enough between us as it is. and i still have all my preg weight as well. oh gosh..i guess i’m gonna have to go buy a test. :\

  20. lee permalink
    March 17, 2009 7:34 am

    It is possible and no were are not mental! I am 40 years old with 3 boys. I knew every day I was pregnant with all three of them. But after the third my husband had a vasectomy. Two years later guess what happened? For the past 5 months I have been experiencing weight gain but figured it was due to having three boys, almost 40, winter and not as active, etc. My periods have been regular every month. I do not mean spotting…but regular! I felt like I could be pregnant and even took 3 home pregnancy test over the last 4 months. All said negative. I have had gallbladder pains and lots of gas so I went to my doctor. He ordered a upper abdominal us. They found I had gallstones and sent me to a surgeon. I was about to have my gallbladder removed and the surgeon ordered a pregnancy test just to be sure. Sure enough I am 5 months pregnant. It is real easy to blame other things especially when my husband had a vasectomy and was clear to go! I am getting my 5-7 day period every month! I have so many factors that make a normal person say “there is no way I can be pregnant, periods, negative test…etc. So you blame everything else you can think of. Yes this can happen!!!!!

    • Dee permalink
      October 31, 2009 3:15 pm

      I am 36 years old a mother of 4 a couple of months ago I felt like I was pregnant, morning sickness, tender breast,and smells made me sick. I’ve taken several pg test all to be negative, recently I’ve been having alot of back pain and tender breast all of a sudden my period stopped after having a normal one every 28 days even during the earlier symptoms, I’ve taken several more pg test still are negative, I’ve gained a little weight could I be pregnant the Dr. says NO. Have not taken a ultra sound.

    • DeDe permalink
      April 10, 2011 12:43 pm

      I’m 40 with no children. In my 20′s I had two tubal pregnancies a couple years apart. I did have some early symptoms with both and suspected that I was pregnant, but I had regular periods and urine tests were negative with both, no nausea, etc. The first wasn’t diagnosed via blood test until it ruptured. With the second, the doc listened to me and did the blood test, which enabled earlier diagnosis, but the tube was still damaged and part of that one was removed. This past Dec. & Jan. I had periods in between my periods, but still had my regular period as well. My periods are now back to normal with no in between bleeding. I also experienced extreme breast tenderness and have gone up a full bra size from Dec. to now. They are still tender, but not so much. I’ve also noticed other changes in my body. It’s all so reminiscent of those earlier pregnancies, that I can’t help but wonder. I did a home preg. test in early March and it was negative. Wondering if perhaps it’s just early menopause….

  21. March 25, 2009 3:57 am

    It is like the baby wants to surprise you :D
    Hope all pregnancies will be healthy and the baby too.

  22. PRINCESS permalink
    March 29, 2009 9:12 pm

    Hey Lee now im extra terrified i had a negative blood test but my period was 8 days late but now its almost gone at 3 days and i still have headaches and nausea and no interest in my bf touching me. he gets on my nerves all day and he doesn’t even have to be home if im pregnant i might not find out till i deliver

  23. April 2, 2009 8:15 am

    in some cases pregnencey can give out diffrent signs as far as finding if your pregnet or not sometimes we can not ever know if the signs are typicle sickness of the body or pregnencey if we took the time to sat down and conversate about are past we would be able to find out better then we would be running in the streets of any city saying are you the dad

  24. Nicole permalink
    April 9, 2009 9:41 pm

    Hi. I dont know if I am pregnant or not. I have a 4 yr old and was told I cant have another baby because I have amenorrhea. I take prometrium almost every month. But here recently I have been in severe pain in my lower left side (near my hip)on the front of my stomach. I tried to get in to see my ob/gyn and they gave me the run around about what the insurance needs. My insurance only grants me 14 drs app. per yr. So I couldnt get into the ob/gyn so I came home and took a 800 mg ibruprofin. If I was to be pregnant I wouldnt know when it happened because I took 3 pregnancy tests a week ago. all neg.

  25. May 7, 2009 4:45 am

    Well that’s sad that her guy has to go back to Iraq! I hope he will come back safe…

  26. manda permalink
    May 31, 2009 10:44 pm

    just want to let every one know that the chance of a woman giving birth to a baby and not knowing she was pregnant is 1 on 2400 and the chance of having twins is 1 in 7500
    a large number of these girls or women are over weight and do not see weight gain or feel movement

    recently my cousin just had a little girl and had no idea she was pregnant. no signs at all , nothing, please dont judge people that dont know cause you are not in their shoes. I have 2 boys of my own and i know what it feels like and what the signs are and i never seen one . so please dont assume that they are in denial. this happends

    • Angie permalink
      December 14, 2009 10:53 pm

      after reading up on the replies people are leaving it makes me wonder how do u not know you are pregnant, i just watched a episode on Dr. Phil a couple weeks ago where a girl said she didnt know she was pregnant the whole time i dont get how someone doesnt know. i didnt get my period for a while this summer till later in august before that me and my mom were worried and thought i might be pregnant, i took tests and they all came out negative i took them in august and maybe july. i have been getting my period, but ive also been getting really bad stomache pains the last month or so, ive been getting really dizzy lately to the point where i blacked out a couple weeks ago and my sis had to take me to the hospital. one of the doctors asked if i was pregnant but i said no, because i havent had sex since july and because ive been getting my period. but im not sure what these stomache pains are, why im getting them. and after reading these articles now it makes me wonder more if its possible i could be pregnant…? can someone please reply.

  27. Linda permalink
    July 22, 2009 8:47 pm

    I not sure if I’m pregnant. In Jan I had a etopic pregnancy which they removed my left tube. I started getting my period about 6 weeks after. My period before my etopic pregnancy was clock work and light flow every month lasting only 3 – 4 days. I had a 28 day cycle till about a year ago when it changing to a 35 day cycle. I’m 39 and had a D & C in my early twenties. Lately I have noticed alot of weight grain in the belly area and still very tired. Also my nipples still seem very large from my January pregnancy. I am still getting my period but now I have major cramping and pain and my period will lasts about a 7 days now. Last month my period cycle was back at 28 days and my flow was light and only lasted 4 days. I still get lower abe pain during the middle of the month about 2 weeks before my period. I did take a home pregnancy test last month to see if I was pregnant and it was negitive…. is it possible that I am pregnant again or are these aftermath signs of the etopic pregnancy? When I was pregnant in Jan I had “the signs” but now this time I am not sure…

  28. anonymous permalink
    July 28, 2009 9:48 pm

    I have always charted my fertility signs on a paper chart until recently I began charting with the “fertileview” software program which interprets my fertility signs and gives me a result based on my fertility goal. When my husband and I have tried to acheive pregnancy using the principles of fertility awareness I was always able to acheive and I attribute that to understanding the awesome design of my fertility. With that information I was able to know when my baby was due because I knew the date of conception- pretty cool!!! It works great- I highly recommend charting your fertility signs it is an empowering and great information for women and couples!!!! Go green with your fertility- then there are no surprises……

  29. brit permalink
    August 16, 2009 8:24 pm

    I’m getting desperate for answers. I’ve been having pregnancy symptoms for a while now, but a lot of them have disappeared within this past week or so. Some of my friends that have had kids before all keep telling me they think I’m pregnant too. I’ve taken at least 5 or 6 hpt’s and I’ve had a test done at a doctors office and all but one came back negative. I’ve gotten false positives before so I don’t know if I really trust hpt’s.but I’ve been gaining weight and I’m really starting to look pregnant. By my count I’d be between 11 and 15 weeks cuz the “period” I had in June wasn’t really a normal period for me. I don’t have insurance and I’m alittle strapped for cash so I haven’t gone to the doctor. If I don’t get a period this coming week I’m going to get a doctors appt. I really don’t want to be one of those girls that goes without prenatal care and I’m getting extremely frustrated with everything.

    • July 13, 2011 5:28 pm

      Brit,
      If you have had even 1 out of 5 hpt’s come back positive, plus with the symptoms you have explained, then I would see an OB. I don’t know what state your in but I do know that most state insurances will give you insurance if your pregnant no matter what your income. Plus when you go to the OB, they will wait to bill the state insurance if you are pregnant so it will be covered. However, if you are not pregnant then you will get stuck with the bill. But then their also local charities that will help will medical bills, and most doctors offices will work with you.

  30. Ashley permalink
    September 2, 2009 8:23 pm

    I am also worried. I have always had irregular periods. The last “real” one was back in April of this year when I was with my ex, and I was a little active during that month. I have had 2 semi periods since then, all they really were was just bleeding, not really a whole lot of clotting. Shortly after I started eating alot, having weird cravings, going to the bathroom alot.I also wake up kinda sick in the mornings. The smells of certain foods make me sick like the smell of scrambled eggs, and I love eggs. I also am gaining weight although I am kinda on the plump side as it is. I have found stretch marks that weren’t there before, and my mom says that she has no doubt that I am pregnant which is comming from someone who has had 5 children. Only problem is I’ve taken like 8 hpt’s and had one that was a faint positive. I have even gone to the emergency room to have a blood test and it came up negative. We think that I don’t have the pregnancy hormone because I am a severe chronic anemic, and the iron depletion in my body has kinda messed my body up. I am severly worried because I have no insurance and I am also kinda strapped on cash. I have no idea what to do, because if I am pregnant I am worried on how my child would turn out, because on my side of the family we have a history of having children with disabilities, and my ex’s side has the same history. I am very confused.

    HELP!!

  31. Tink permalink
    April 29, 2010 9:29 pm

    I’m just wondering are all these women who don’t know their pregnant til about like 5 months to birth overweight. Like bigger than 175? Is it possible to be pregnant and not know till late or till birth if ur 175-180? I mean wouldn’t u gain alot of weight due to baby and placenta and stuff? Just wondering becase I had what I thought were signs but went away and now many months later my lower abdomen has started getting hard and I don’t know why. My bf things I look bigger but yet I don’t believe I’ve gained any weight, late time I weighed which was about amonth ago so I dunno. I mean I don’t think I could be preg because I would think I’d have symptoms especially if I’m far enough that lower stomach would harden. So were they overweight or was there any situation like I’ve explained?

    • July 13, 2011 5:35 pm

      Tink,
      I gained 70 lbs for my first child and 9 months later I was pregnant again. At this point I was 190lbs. I only gained 7lbs during my second pregnancy due to my weight gain. So I do believe that the more weight you have on you can result in less weight gain. I knew I was pregnant at 1 week for my first child, but for my second I didn’t find out till I was 3 1/2 months because I had so much weight from the first pregnancy still and thought the feelings were from having a baby.

  32. Shannon permalink
    June 13, 2010 11:36 pm

    I know i had just found out that i am 7 months pregnant and never knew till about a week ago. I have never had a regular period, in fact only ever had 1 maybe two a year since i was 14 (am 22 now) and had went to the docter back when i was 14 and they found that i had cancer to the uteris but it was not advanced enough to have to remove my whole uteris, just part of it, and had been told that i would not be able to get pregnant unless i had something special done. So i have been having unprotected sex since i was 14 and with my b/f of four years and never thought anything of it when i started gettin sick, i thought it was due to me starting a stressful job at a call centre, and also gotten the flu not long after. Im normally not one that goes to the doctors but finally did when my cramps we’re getting unbearable and i had felt moving in my stomache, which i had thought was something happening with my gastric system since it was only ever in my lower stomache. But sure enough, went to a clinic and am 7 months pregnant and am freaked out but semi excited from everyone elses excitement at the time. I have never wanted a kid and debated putting this one up for adoption when i first found out, but have since decided to keep her. As for the weight gain, i have always been a bit over weight and had fluctuated weight gain/loss and thought i was just gaining more since i had been less active.

  33. jamilah permalink
    July 2, 2010 12:55 pm

    hello im 32 years old i have four children. i am on depo and have been getting it regular for about 2 years now. i have a bf and we are sexually active..i have been having headaches that last all day, my stomach hurts, dizzyness, breast hurts at times, tired, cranky, and nausea..whats wrong with me am i pregnant..

  34. yadi permalink
    July 10, 2010 1:35 am

    -ok, so after reading all this im freaking out! Im 19 got married 3 months ago,(my husband is 20), anyways..we had been trying to conceive for about 6 months now..and nothing, my periods are horribly irregular, so i never knew when i was ovulating..my last period was April 22 and it was induced by taking provera, i took it for 10 days, and then i began my BC to regulate my period. Since then i was active with my husband (were newlyweds so of course!) ;)..so we are on our “honeymoon” in NM, and i went to the doctor, she did a “pelvic exam” && she said im around 6 weeks! I took about 6 hpt’s and all neg. But she said my cervix was enlarged..i dnt know if i am pregnant..my husband sure thinks so..but i do not want to get too excited, i guess i will just leave it in Gods hands :)

  35. yadi permalink
    July 10, 2010 1:42 am

    –forgot to say the symptoms i have..im moody, (my husband gets mad out of nowhere) he is not like this at all..he is very calm, i dnt get nauseous..but i have had headaches for about a month and a half (EVERY morning!) stomach aches, sort of like indigestion, obviously..missed period..having many dreams of the baby, (always same little girl by the way) honestly, i dnt know what to believe..everyone tells me im prego, but for some reason..i dont believe it :/

  36. Kylee permalink
    August 1, 2010 4:13 am

    Hey All! I’ve been reading through the posts, and I’m kinda a bit freaked out, but happy to know that I’m not the only one who’s felt this way!!!!!!!

    My periods have been fairly regular (within a couple of days of my “due” date for getting my monthlies!) and I’ve never gone more than 2 or 3 days past when I have charted that they’ll come… however. My ex moved back to Brisbane (I live in Australia), at the end of May. We slept together during what I can only explain as my “predicted” ovulation time, and since then, I’ve had 2 very light periods that have lasted 3 – 4 days (my periods are normally regular flow, no clotting (sorry, tmi, i know!) and last 4 days to the dot…).

    Now, for the last 2 periods I’ve had, they’ve been really light, almost like implantation bleeding, lasting 2 days max, and i was due to get my periods a week ago, have taken 3 HPT’s, and all negative! I did go to the doctors about 3 weeks ago, and the ba$t@rds lost my frickin results! So now I have to go back and see another doctor (as I don’t trust the one I first saw) to get a blood test done…and ask for an U/S to be done, just to confirm I either “am” pregnant, or “not” pregnant. My best friend, who is currently 7-8 weeks pregnant with her 2nd child, reckons that I could very well be pregnant based on the fact that I feel nauseaous on and off at least half a dozen times a day….but no throwing up, the fact my boobs are bigger, my aerola’s are bigger, i have “bumps” around my nipples, I’ve been getting frequent headaches, and I have been feeling bloated around my uterus area for the past 6-7 weeks. IF I am indeed pregnant, I have figured out that I would be somewhere between 9-11 weeks gestation… but if not… WHAT THE HELL IS GOING ON!!!!!!!!!!!

    HELP!?!?!?!?!

  37. Kylee permalink
    August 1, 2010 4:15 am

    Oh, and I forgot to mention, I also have an aversion to eggs and cheese at the moment – both of which I love eating!!!!! My symptoms aren’t “intense” but they are there, and I’m not just imagining it… I can also smell things on the other side of the house, as if they were sitting right next to me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  38. cookiex permalink
    August 6, 2010 5:26 pm

    One of my best freinds who i used to see on a regular basis like every day didnt realise she was pregnant untill about a month or so before she was going to give birth!..she only put on a slight bit of weight but around this time she passed her driving test so i thought she was getting a little lazy.(it wasnt alot of weight) she said she had normal period ect. she was in and out of hospital on several occasions for iron defficency. doctors tested her but never picked up that she was pregnant!? at 8months! and no one else knew untill her mum made her take a HPT. Then she found out she was positive. she told me all this after her new born was put into care for 6months so she could prepare her self and tell her boyfreind of a year she was a dad and the lil boy was due to come home!. (including me her ‘best freind’) when she text me to tell me this..i was devastated how she could keep it from me and to have the cheek to TEXT me the important news..still around 7months later i am still hung up about it? it is wrong for me to feel this way?

  39. Daisy permalink
    August 12, 2010 4:46 pm

    Everyone experiences pregnancy differently. It is an amazing thing for a woman to create life inside her. Some women will have nausea, heartburn, etc. Others don’t. So, I don’t find it impossible that women genuinely don’t know what pregnancy feels like at some point in time. Whether they have had children before or first time mothers. Just because one experiences all or most typical symptoms and tests come out positive, doesn’t mean that everyone else will. There are tests that come out false positive. There are tests that come out negative because of birth control (extra hormones can play a role in making a test go negative). Some women don’t gain weight while others do. Every woman’s body has they’re very own unique reaction to pregnancy whether she is aware of it or not. It is judgmental to just point out and say these women are in denial.

  40. Savanah permalink
    November 7, 2010 6:49 pm

    Apparently it is normal for women in Iowa to give birth within hours of finding out they are pregnant. I live in central Iowa and it is very common here. In fact, I know of a girl that just gave birth Friday without having any clue & another girl that had it happen to her twice.

    Personally, I’ve had 4 kids (3 pregnancies) and am a larger girl anyway. I weighed 210 when I became pregnant with the second one & I know I still could feel it.

    I think age plays a big part in this. All of the girls around here were under 25 & single. I don’t think I’ve ever heard of this happening to a married women (just saying). Maybe regular gyno visits & taking a test if you even suspect its a possibility?

    I definitely agree that the weight gain & lack of period due to heavy sports doesn’t make much sense. Neither does the taking hours to determine she was pregnant. Every time I go to the doctor or hospital, even for a stomach bug, I get a pregnancy test first thing (even when I explained I hadn’t done anything to make one necessary for over 18 months once).

  41. Sophie permalink
    November 16, 2010 9:59 am

    I have a friend that has recently just had a baby, she had know clue she was pregnant, she had periods the whole way through and was drinking alcohol while pregnant (she obviously didnt stop as she had know idea she was pregnant. She din’t know she was pregnant for the whole 9 months until she got rushed into hospital with terrible pains in her stomache, she gave birth the a beautiful little give the next day… isn’t that strange that she had no idea for the whole pregnancy that she was pregnant.

  42. mimi permalink
    December 14, 2010 1:18 am

    hey all. back in march/april my ex came over and we slept together and since then i have been freaking out. we didnt use a condom and we already have a son together. he was even freaked the i was pregnant and hasnt been around since. anyways i dont have any symptoms other than my period isnt as heavy as it usually is. now i am cramping for the past 2 days but i have my period. could it just be in the mind . i have lost 30lbs since we slept together but i have been excerising more, i just cant seem to lose the weight in my stomach and now its like hard i dunno i think im paranoid

  43. Angelice permalink
    January 10, 2011 12:46 am

    I have been reading The posts here and I must say I am worried now. I had the novasure done 4 months ago but about 3 months ago i had light spotting like implantation. I thought it as my cycle starting. A few days later I got sore breast, then came not long after lightheaded,dizzy, bloating, nausea, tired more then normal plus my pants are getting to tight to put on and i have gained 3 pounds . About 2 months after i got all those symptoms I am feeling movement. I have had 4 births so I know what its like symptom wise. i felt my last 2 pregnancy’s move at 9 and 8 weeks pregnant so feeling movement is nothing new this early. I had 2 blood test and like more urine tests i can count they are all negative. With my all my pregnancy’s I did not show up on blood or urine until I was 4 to 5 months pregnant. So could i be pregnant is it possible to be after Novasure? I have herd of women having baby’s after novasure. Any advice on what to do? Im going to get my doc next month to do an ultra sound but if its not that then what could it be?

  44. michelle permalink
    January 26, 2011 8:20 pm

    i really need help people? i am on the implant me and my partner have recently had sex and for the first time i let him cum inside me and i have been having pregnancy systems and i am really confused cause i have never had these systems before please help !!!!!!!!! i have done a pregantcy test and it turned negitive but i still feel like i am pregnant and i still have the systems and i really want to be pregant

  45. dev permalink
    January 29, 2011 2:14 am

    hello,

    I just married last year oct 18 ,after marry we had sex weekly 5 times and now she is pregent tested on today (2 months alredy) ,is it possible?

  46. dev permalink
    January 29, 2011 2:15 am

    does that means i could be the father?

  47. jen permalink
    February 4, 2011 8:14 am

    Hi now this is my situation, I have had regular periods all my life up until june of last year, it only lasted two days that month, then normal again up until Sept when periods where two weeks apart, then once again normal until last month when it only lasted two days again. I have two other children and with them i did not feel much movement. Now I’m sure I felt little bumps in my lower abdomen then it moved up to belly button, now I was sick around christmas and I my of felt a little jab here or there,but nothing like before. I have a friend who keeps telling me its just nerves. I have felt nausea throughout this whole thing but just thinking it stress. I have only gained 10 pounds but I had that on prior. There is a heavy feeling in my belly, but like people have posted denial I think that is a factor. I donot think a pregnancy test would work considering if I am pregnant the hormone levels would be confused from you still having your period. So you tell me. lol If I turn out to be I wonder what I would have considering I already have a girl and a boy. Thanks

  48. JOHNSON permalink
    February 5, 2011 12:44 am

    OF COURSE. SHE COULD BE AS MUCH AS 5 MONTHS PREGNANT. EVEN IF SHE WAS A VIRGIN WHEN YOU GOT MARRIED. YOU’RE THE FATHER UNLESS SHE HAS BEEN WITH SOMEONE ELSE.

  49. Jess permalink
    February 17, 2011 5:23 pm

    hi everyone. okay so my situation is in december, my fiance and i were having sex and right before he came the condom came off inside me. (yes we got it out) and i took tests 2-3 weeks after to see if i was pregnant. all tests came up negative. a friend of mine is pregnant for a second time and she swore up and down i could be pregnant. i havent taken any more tests since then. after the neg tests i put the idea out if my head. yesterday we had sex and when he went to pull out it accidently slipped back inside me and he came inside. now more than ever i have it in my mind that i could be. since dec ive been having stomach aches on and off and random sharp pains every once in awhile. last week i had the smelling power like no other. (that went away). also since dec ive gained about 10 lbs. i really want to be pregnant and am scared to see anymore neg tests :/ please give me opions or something. idk what to do!!

  50. Jess permalink
    February 17, 2011 5:27 pm

    oh and also my eating habits have intesified. i have always been able to eat quite a bit but lately it seems like im always hungry, ill eat and literally within an hour or two, im hungry again.

    any opinions…please let me know!

  51. jess permalink
    February 20, 2011 8:41 pm

    my mother didint know she was pregnant with me because she was told she couldint have childern so when she started throwing up at work a co worker asked her if she was pregnant and she said there was no way she could be but she took a test and it was positive
    and now im worried im pregnant and dont know because i have backaches , nasuea ,emotional,abdominal butterfly feeling all the time,constipation,cravings and eating alot more my stomach also seems to be looking pregnant in most of my shirts lately i havint took a test i did last month somtime but it was negative i think im gunna get another reading all these storys and maybe even go to the dr about it because i have a normal period i guess exept its different then it ever used to be mine used to just start and be haevy and blood red now they spot for 3 days bleed pink for 3 days and its over but its around the time im supposed to have my period to im just reallt thrown off by this

  52. Stephanie Witczak permalink
    March 13, 2011 5:12 pm

    I never missed a period, lost 60 lbs, played softball, worked construction my entire pregnancy. while hanging out with friends i started getting the worse cramps ever. i was use to having very harsh cramps so i shrugged it off and stayed w my friends. by 4 in the morning i couldnt sit, stand, or walk. i drove home (45 mins) and took a shower hoping the hot water would help. but no luck. i layed in bed for a long period of time. i started crying as the cramps got longer and more intense. my mom came in my room and tried calming me down. which helped for a few mins, but still the cramps continued. 9:45 am dec 27 2008 i went into the bathroom to have another shower and to get ready for my friends wedding and my parents anniversary. i fell asleep finally sitting on the floor after becoming dizzy and weak. i woke to my daughters head crowning! the first thing that went through my mind is to get her out. one push and she came out with a perfect cry, MA! not many mother can say they delivered their child, but i did at 18 :)

  53. kendra permalink
    June 1, 2011 9:58 am

    I have missed two period and I took two Walgreens test..the first.wasn’t working right and the second said positive…but I don’t feel pregnant…no morning sickness just minor cramps and cravings…so am I pregnant?

  54. Anonymous permalink
    July 14, 2011 12:42 pm

    Anyone that says that you have to be stupid not to know they’re pregnant is stupid themselves. What ignorance!
    I’m only 20, and had unprotected sex with my boyfriend nearly every day for almost two years. I assumed that I was infertile.
    I always have had irregular periods that vary in length and flow, and come at random times each month. Not only that, but I always started to get my PMS symptoms a week after my period ended, and they included nausea, bloating, cramps, increased appetite, tiredness, and irritability. I even begin to gain weight up to about 5lbs up until I get my period, then lose it again. I also have upper back pain constantly, and have had kidney infections in the past.
    One month I began feeling particularly worse than any other month, and even threw up once. That month, my period ended up lasting just less than three days. It was brown and pink in color, and was very light. I probably wouldn’t have taken a test at all besides the actual color of the bleeding seemed off to me. The test I took was negative though. I’d always heard home tests were reliable, so I figured I was getting a kidney infection and started drinking cranberry juice.
    The kidney infections I’d had lasted a long time, so the way I felt was passed off as that combined with being bloated and having sore breasts because of my bipolar menstrual cycle.
    When my bloated stomach started to become more of a hard lump, I told my mom and asked her to let me see a doctor (being a full time student in college, I’m still on her health insurance), afraid something serious was wrong. Our insurance doesn’t make a visit free though, and I was really shocked when my mom just simply told me it was “probably my organs because I’m skinny,” and that her “paying for a doctor visit for nothing was a waste of her money.” I protested with her, explaining that I’d gained 4lbs recently, the lump had been there awhile and was growing, and that it felt uncomfortable at times, but she wasn’t having it. Because of my parent’s lifelong belief that you don’t need a doctor unless you’re dying, I had also never gone to a gyno, so I could have had cervical cancer or something for all I knew!
    I felt so desperate that I talked to a friend’s mom who was a nurse. I showed her my belly and explained everything. She felt it a little and said she was 99% sure I was pregnant.
    I couldn’t stand it anymore. Money or not. I went to the ER. I discovered that I was nearly 4 months pregnant!
    I had attributed my symptoms to other known health problems of mine until, being so thin, I began to actually show.
    I didn’t want to be pregnant, but I wasn’t just in denial. I was very accepting of it when I found out the truth, and glad I wasn’t dying.

    Some people don’t have “normal” bodies or cycles. It doesn’t make them stupid. When someone’s body works abnormally and/or inconsistently anyways, especially when most articles on pregnancy only say what happens on ‘average’, it can be impossible to know what’s happening with your body, especially of for some reason, you’re denied health care.

  55. Anonymous permalink
    July 14, 2011 12:47 pm

    I might also add that each month, this bleeding came, the 17th each month! I thought my cycle was just becoming regular!

  56. Amnothing permalink
    July 29, 2011 8:00 pm

    I just read all of your posts when I was super concerned that I was pregnant. I hadn’t had a period in 2 weeks and I really believed that it was all in my head, then I read all of your posts and realized that I had to test myself. I am pregnant and I was sooooo scared, just like holly i thought that I never wanted to have kids, but now that I know that I am pregnant i wouldn’t change it for the world.

  57. christina permalink
    August 8, 2011 6:57 am

    all my friends say and think i am pregnant and my stomache is getting bigger ,and i have some nausea and i am gaining weight and i have my regular periods and yet i feel pregnant /all test are negative so i am pretty sure you will see me posting soon that i had a baby …i have 2 sons age 10 & 6 and knew for them

  58. August 14, 2011 8:41 am

    I actually had a friend in complete denial about her pregnancy as well. I swear she was in labor before she would admit it.

  59. October 30, 2011 11:20 am

    I am 50yrs old…. regular periods like clockwork…but Im feeling little kicks in my tummy ..all over the place ..feeling a little off ..had 5 kids so know what its like to be pregnant but this has really thrown me… Im not clucky at all..so not phantom pregnancy ..guess I better go get a check up …LOL! oh this is going to be a fun ride at my age… last babies I had in my 40′s so its not really a biggie. thanks for all the comments..I thought I was going nuts..looks like I might not be after all..smiles :-)

  60. Natasha permalink
    November 4, 2011 1:43 am

    i am so confused!!! a few months ago i was 5 days late so i started worrying, i didnt take a test i just thought well maybe it is stress or somethin, when i finally started i was like yeah i guess that was it. i was feeling sick alot and very tired all the time. It has been around 3 months since then and i recently got my period but it only last for 3 days then stopped, i have always had my period for 7 days and at least 3 of those days were heavy, but i only bled heavy the day i started last month. i have weird abdominal pains and i cannot sleep enough, the sick feeling has stopped now but i keep feeling somethin move every couple of days. On top this, i have had about 3 or 4 dreams that i was either pregnant or having a baby. In the first dream, i was with my fiance and his mother and stepdad and i didnt appear pregnant but a baby appeared in my arms and i just knew it was mine, in the second i was telling people that i was pregnant, and in the third i went to the hospital and found out that i was pregnant. i took a test that came out negative but it was a really cheap one. i am thinkin of goin to the hospital and sayin i am hurtin in my stomach area so maybe they will do an ultrasound and see if i am. My best friend since 3rd grade is absolutely sure that i am pregnant and i keep telling her now we dont know that because if i am i haven’t gained any weight. please HELLLLPPPP!!!! what should i do?

  61. Rochelle jones permalink
    November 21, 2011 9:21 pm

    I have pre breast milk and I been throwing up and I been really sleepy and I not pregnant can somebody please tell me something thank u

  62. Nikki permalink
    December 9, 2011 6:03 am

    Heyy everyone. After reading these comments I am freaked out. I am 17 and I dont know if im pregnant or not. Me and my boyfriend of a year are sexually active and I have irregular periods. But , for the past 4 months I have had 1 period and it was like a regular period but only lasted 4 or 5 days. I have took home pregnancy test and they were all negative except 2. I went to the doctor and they also tell me no. But these last 2 months I have gained about 5 pounds , back pains , eating alot , going to the bathroom alot , all I wanna do is sleep. Is it possible that I could be pregnant?!. Someone please help!!!

  63. Nicole permalink
    February 22, 2012 5:20 pm

    I’m 37, and I became pregnant with my son at the age of 33. I do not have a normal menstrual cycle unless I am on the pill. I was actually almost 6 months pregnant, still on the pill and had no clue I was pregnant. I gained only 15 pounds (which for me is normal for my weight to vary within 15 pounds) and because of the pill I was still having a period. I also found out the location of the placenta made it practically impossible to feel my son kick. I never felt him kick throughout my pregnancy. I would get “butterflies” in my belly, but no kicking. If I had not had an appointment with my doctor to renew my birth control prescription, I may not have known I was pregnant maybe another month, because that is when I started to show. Unfortunately, my then fiance thought I hid the pregnancy from him and broke up with me. I should actually thank him. At least he showed me the man he is before I married him. My son will soon be 4 years old, and he is healthy. I never thought not knowing about being pregnant was possible, but I can say based on my experience that any woman regardless of age can have an unknown pregnancy.

Trackbacks

  1. 10+1 medical librarians blogs you should read | Knowledge beyond words
  2. Queen of Clean » Blog Archive » come on down Hugo!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,097 other followers

