Skip to content

Are Women Really Requesting C-Sections?

January 23, 2008

My latest post at Our Bodies Our Blog looks at discussion of “maternal request” cesarean sections, and a small study that attempts to measure whether women are really asking for the procedure in the absence of a medical indication.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2008 8:54 pm

    yes-many woman want to have c-section-they are weaker now than the previous era mothers-many women do not want more than one baby due to the labour pain phobia-
    regards/
    sameera

  2. Emily permalink
    February 1, 2008 4:39 pm

    I’ve heard a few women my age “joke” about just going straight for the c-section because it’s “easier”. I didn’t believe them until one actually did schedule her c-section. She said she had to fight back the urge to kiss her dr when he agreed to a requested c-section. I was surprised. I really thought my friends had been joking when they’d said this before.

  3. Pamela permalink
    May 1, 2008 5:30 pm

    Sameera that is the biggest load of crock i have ever heard!! Women who have c-sections don’t always get a choice its that or risk harming your baby!! How dare you call us weak!!! Have you ever had a csection??? Have you ever had to have your stomach, muscles and uterine wall cut open?? and then be told that you can’t do anything for 2months until your body heals??? Every woman that i have spoken to as well as myself who has had a c-section hasn’t had it by choice they have been told that there pelvis is too small and the baby could have complications or get stuck or other serious reasons like they are bleeding out. In my case my son was too big for my pelvis he couldn’t engage, I tried to give birth even tried being induced but after 2 days of trying i spoke to my doctor about my options it wasn’t till i had an ultrasound that it was determind that he maybe too big for my pelvis, and when they opened me up the surgeon said that there was no way possible that he would’ve been able to be delivered naturally!! he would have got the top of his head stuck and i would’ve had to have had an emergency c-section!! Most women aren’t scared of pain, the pain associated with a c-section is far worse in some cases then a vaginal birth!! Particularly if your scar opens or you get an infection! Most women who are allowed to book a c-section have usually had one prior and were told by the surgeon that when they delivered next time that they should consult there doctor as to if they need to book one! Also it is very rare for a doctor to agree to arranging a c-section for the sake of it!! Emily did you friend have private health insurance by any chance???

  4. Zola permalink
    June 23, 2008 9:01 pm

    I cannot believe what I am hearing. Weak? How great to see such sisterhood and concern for one another about one of the most profound things we as women are able to do!
    Shame on you. I am so sick of hearing people dictating or trying to guilt trip women who choose how, where and yes, sometimes even when, to give birth. it is their body, their child, their delivery, and their choice.
    It is hard enough to give birth without constantly being gosspied about, whined about and guilt tripped for how or in what way we do it.
    Cesareans have saved lives. My son is one of those lives. How dare you trivialize the need and the operation. My son had the cord wrapped around his ankle and his neck. Every time he kicked he was choking himself.
    I had been in labor, with kick ass contractions for nearly 23 hours. The doctor monitored the heartbeat of my son and knew something was not right. The doctor, a very old man, who had delivered several of my adult friends as well as being a doctor on the ground during wars, had the wisdom as well as the tools and technology to save our lives.
    Many women have trouble dilating, some have small pelvises, some do not want to rip and tear their vaginas, some have medical illnesses, or diseases. There is no “pain free” birth fr any of us. Giving birth is not for the weak. I have had more cesareans after the first and I am appalled when “professionals” have tried to push me into doing a “vaginal birth after cesarean”. I chose what is safest for me and what I belive is right for me.Any professional doctor or other caregiver who suggests that a c section is not necessary and that women’s bodies are “all designed” for birth should be considered a quack. Are we supposed to reverse all technological advances and procedures so people can dictate that we keep the giving birth behind closed doors in our bathrooms? Please! I happen to like the fact that more women today SURVIVE than ever before when giving birth. Imagine! Wanting to be alive to see the life you just brought into the world!

  5. June 24, 2008 8:28 am

    Yeah, for the record, I’m not a fan of the “women are weaker (now)” argument.

  6. September 12, 2008 6:10 pm

    Note to Ivette, whose comment I removed: no name calling.

  7. Michaela permalink
    January 14, 2009 7:43 pm

    I’m not the slightest bit surprised women request planned c-sections.
    The women I know who have had surgical vaginal births makes me shudder – third degree tears and other major birth injuries.
    A family friend just went through the most traumatic experience of her life – she’s receiving treatment for PTSD – there will be no more kids, her husband has already had a vasectomy.
    The child was born in the breech position surprising the midwives – she tore very badly and required surgery – she faces more surgery later this month and it appears has nerve damage as well…
    Vaginal childbirth is often a violent and traumatic experience – you can’t assume everyone has a couple of hours of controlled pain with the “sounds of the rainforest” in the background before the baby arrives with no drama…
    In fact, it rarely seems to happen that way if my colleagues, friends, relatives and acquaintances are any judge…
    Of course, there is the conspiracy of silence – even if your wife is in surgery being “repaired” – she’s always fine and everyone’s well and happy, aren’t they?
    It would be a planned c-section for me that’s for sure….as much control as possible with a Dr I respect and trust…

  8. liz permalink
    January 29, 2012 1:35 am

    I also had an emergent section, because my body would not progress. I feel as though, I was robbed of the journey; I had prepared for. So weak is certainly a low blow. We can’t help with what God hands us.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,100 other followers

