Skip to content

The Bedtime Chronicles, Vol. 3

January 9, 2008

On occasion, I’ve written about my strange dreams and other odd nighttime happenings. Last night’s weird dream had real world consequences, though. I accidentally fell asleep on the couch, and was having a dream about arguing with my dad and delivering a martial arts-style kick to his chest just prior to awakening. This isn’t so odd in itself, as I received a punching bag for Christmas and my dad bears an uncanny resemblance to pre-plastic surgery Chuck Norris.

The strange part? The noise I was awakened by was the result of my having actually kicked a tall drinking glass on the nearby table. Glass shattered across the table, and flew onto the rug and wood floor. Other items suffered as well – I still can’t find the battery cover for the radio remote.

And that was the last unbroken tall drinking glass. I suppose I’ll have to get more, now.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2008 1:41 pm

    I love your dream stories! Remind me not to disturb you if I see you napping at your desk…

  2. January 9, 2008 1:56 pm

    I’m new to your blog and happy to find it. Interesting you mention dreams and such. I woke up from what must have been a similar dream to yours with a dull ache in my foot. I had just kicked the wall- the house we lived in was made of brick. Luckily I was still half asleep. ;)

    Also, when I was young (and possibly now, too) I had dreams where I confronted people that I felt bullied by. I would try to punch them but whenever I tried my fist would turn to jello and I’d go in slow motion and barely tap their jaw. Usually, that would do the trick and I’d wake up feeling better.

  3. January 9, 2008 7:15 pm

    Leila, thanks! I once had one of those “ineffective punch” dreams in which I had picked a fistfight with Ice T. ;)

  4. January 10, 2008 4:45 am

    I’m an idiot. Now your comment on my blog makes sense.

    Clearly I should read other blogs more often. It kind of sucks that you are “w” and come after “t” when I get so badly sidetracked at other places… ;p

  5. January 10, 2008 8:31 am

    No problem Kat – I’ve been slumming it at the end of the alphabet my entire life, even married a “Z.” ;)

  6. January 10, 2008 12:52 pm

    even married a “Z.”

    You do realise you’ll die like 4 years early or something….

    /always spreading cheer!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,102 other followers

