Skip to content

Headlines of 2008 Meme

January 1, 2008

I don’t typically do bloggy memes, but The Archchrone tagged me for one which I thought was interesting to ponder from a women’s health perspective, using some issues we’ve talked about in the past year. Although the meme asks for a single headline per category, some of these deserve more than one shot. Here goes, off the top of my head:

Headline(s) I’m most fearful of seeing in 2008:
-Huckabee wins in a landslide
-Mississippi’s last abortion clinic closes, state sees deaths from illegal procedures
-Analysis finds no improvement in handling of sexual assault cases on reservations
-STD and teen pregnancy rates continue to rise

Headline(s) I most want to see in 2008:
-Federal law protects breastfeeding nationwide anywhere women otherwise have the right to be
-Disparities in fetal mortality rates explained, easily remedied
-FDA approves test for early, accurate diagnosis of ovarian cancer
-FDA approves extremely effective and safe HIV vaccine
-Purity Ball industry tanks as parents realize vaginas are not presents
-Missed Conceptions stops vomiting, births healthy baby, resolves digestive issues
-New book, Our Bodies, Ourselves: Pregnancy and Birth, is wildly successful ;)

Headline(s) I most expect to see in 2008:
-Proponents push for increased funding for abstinence-only sex education
-Tennessee Representative Stacy Campfield proposes half-baked, ill-informed abortion and/or emergency contraception bills
-More hospitals refusing all VBAC attempts

Headline(s) I least expect to see in 2008:
-FDA announces new procedures to separate politics from science
-Project Prevention realizes treatment more effective than coerced sterilization
-People everywhere realize “vagina” is not a dirty word
-Dr. Amy becomes CNM, opens freestanding, midwife-based birth center (I kid, I kid)
-Leslee Unruh becomes comprehensive sex ed educator for Planned Parenthood

I’m not tagging anyone, but I’m sure I’ve missed some things. Please leave your headline suggestions in the comments (I may update the post with your good ideas).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. missedconceptions permalink
    January 2, 2008 7:53 pm

    Awwwwww … you are so sweet!

    I think that after the first trimester I should be able to add “professional puker” to my resume. I have never thrown up this much in my adult life, but I am sure it will all be worth it for a healthy baby, right?

  2. archcrone permalink
    January 2, 2008 9:15 pm

    Rachel, you really went to town on these headline…all great headlines.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,099 other followers

